Spanish Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
A&P used to sell this with cream-cheese frosting. I loved when our mother would bring it home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I made this for my Spanish class fiesta... everybody was asking me for the recipe! I loved it, and so did anyone who ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Excellent recipe!!! Easy to follow, and came out delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milo, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I don't like spice cake, but this was an awesome recipe! My mom mentioned how much she loved Spanish Bar Cake, so I made this for her birthday. She said it was very close to the original (A&P) version. Used the Allspice Cream Cheese Icing from this site. Wow! REally added to it. I cut the water for the raisins down to 3 1/2 cups, added extra allspice (didn't have cinnamon), 1 1/2 cups walnuts and used self-rising flour. The result was a deliciously moist cake that I'm planning to take to my in-laws for Thanksgiving. Mom also suggested adding a can of apple pie filling to the bottom of the pan before adding the batter over top. Baked for 40-45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I made it just by this receipe and my family loved it. I iced it with cream cheese icing. It is a keeper. The next time I make it I will substitute 1 cup of sugar with 1 cup of brown sugar but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gknight

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I found this recipe very unsucessful to make. There is to much water and the cake is very soft inside I tried this recipe, twice with the same results , cooking longer each time.It is not the A & P cake of my childhod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was good but tasted more along the lines of a spice cake than the spanish bar cake (store bought)that were use to but good and I would definately suggest you try...if you grew up with it as a family recipe than the store ones.Was worth the effort...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
i made a half recipe as a birthday cake for my boyfriend, rounded off my spices & baked the cake in a 4"x8" loaf pan for 40 minutes because the spanish bar i grew up with was loaf (bar) shaped. i then trimmed away the bottom & side edges, cut the bar into 2 layers & iced it with the outstanding "allspice cream cheese frosting" from this website. the combination was a knock out! thanks for your recipe janice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Pretty good, too many raisins though! I cut them back to a cup and a half and that seemed like a little too much. This is a good cake in general, very moist too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Not bad but it was way too moist!! must have been all the water, and cooking the raisins is the water for 10 mins was too long, they absorbed alot of water, the cake seemed to get wetter the longer it took to cool! and the raisins just seemed wet rather than being juicy. I will try again using less water and some brown sugar and wheat flour as this is how the A&P one is made. It also needs a frosting, I used butter icing sugar vanilla and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States