Spanakopita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I only had 1 box of spinach, so I halved the recipe. I used mozzarella since I didn't have any Swiss, and pie crust since I didn't have phyllo, but kept everything else the same. This was so good! I imagine it's even better with the phyllo! Definitely making this recipe more often. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Loved this recipe. Next time will use only half the phyllo dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
just love it! and i am suprised, cuz im not a fan of spinach :) but this is really great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liisukas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I was nervous about trying spanakopita as I've never worked with phyllo dough. This was an amazing recipe and my family loved it. It baked up perfectly and was delicious. I added two additional eggs and a cup of ricotta cheese, but made no other changes. I had left over spinach mixture, which I used the next day to make baked ziti. I addition ricotta cheese to the mixture and layered it with ziti and canned spaghetti sauce and topped it all with mozzerella cheese and baked the entire thing. The original dish was amazing and so were the leftovers. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was SO good. Never worked with phyllo before or made spanakopita, although I've always loved it. The only thing I changed was that I used Gruyere cheese instead of swiss and only two boxes of frozen spinach. It was fantastic! I will be making this again for Christmas. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seastheday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens Village, New York, USA
Living In: Southold, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I usually bake half the batch and freeze the other half to bake later. These are even great cold (perfect for lunches on the go, school lunches, etc). This recipe is easy to tweak if you don't have all of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkSpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Delicious! My family loved this, I will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I used Fontina cheese instead of the Swiss. YUM YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I made this for an office pot-luck, and it was a hit! I had a problem where my layers did not "stick" together, so the spanakopita got a little messy when serving. But it was so tasty, who cares??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELWEEDEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Here's what I learned from making this dish: I wanted to cut the saturated fat (a cup is A LOT of grease!); I did this by mixing 1/4 each melted butter and olive oil. Also added about 1 scant tsp. nutmeg (the traditional Greek seasoning for this dish). I never use eggs in mine, as they make the mixture too wet, and the lovely phyllo gets soggy as a consequence. Nothing worse than soggy phyllo! I also only used half the phyllo and 2 10 oz. frozen packs spinach for the same reason. Kept the parm and swiss cheese and that was a really nice touch. I used only half the package of phyllo and baked in a 9 x 13 Pyrex dish until golden. Make sure you roll the edges and butter them (it makes a nice pizza-like crust). I serve this with a large Greek salad, and, on special occasions, get to serve it with the homemade baklava that my next door neighbor Georgia -- who is Greek -- brings by during the holidays. Good times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States