Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Bland :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JGo555
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This is the best ever!!! I was craving these & usually I get the frozen store bought, but screw THAT from now on. The only thing I did different was use green onions since the recipe would be more authentic that way. I made them huge because they were all for me & I also used dried dill because I froze some & when I bake them the dill will become brighter. I've never worked feta before other than in this dish & now, I will eat &/or work with it without any problem. Mary, thank you for curing me of my fear of working with phyllo sheets. I had some left over from cooking these & I made dessert. This is the best, did I say that already?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGo555

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This recipe was so good and so easy to do. The dill sets the flavor and mixes so well with the spinach and feta. Will be making these again and again. I will never need another Spanakopita recipe ever. Thanks Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I have made thousands of these in a restaurant and eaten them in many other Greek restaurants. I used much less onion, (Maybe half of this at the most) and other than cooking the onion, there was no other cooking of the filling involved. And you can use about half of that oil or less. Just cook the onion (Don't Brown it) then add it to the rest of the ingredients. The frozen spinach is already cooked before it's packaged and the rest of the flavors meld together when it's cooked in the oven. Squeeze every last drop of water out of the spinach. Also, I would stack at least 2 layers of phyllo with butter before cutting it into strips. The extra layer or two helps the very delicate sheets hold together while folding and give even more layers of crunch. One stack of sheets would be cut into thirds lengthwise. Another tip is to clarify the butter. When you melt the butter the water separates from the oil. If you skim the butter off of the top or at least try to avoid dipping your brush into the water I find the triangles brown more evenly. I used to make 2 or 3 packages of phyllo dough into triangles a night so I got pretty good at working with the stuff. But I still find phyllo to be my least favorite ingredient I've ever worked with because of how bad it sticks sometimes. It helps to let it thaw slowly in the refrigerator but sometimes it just wants to stick together no matter what you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
DEElicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
How interesting ... someone rated this recipe 4 stars ... didn't try the recipe and gave one of her own ... something is wrong with either this person or this picture ... it is a fab recipe ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Dimas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
My Greek mother makes spanakopita with these changes: 3 10-oz. bags fresh spinach, 1 bunch fresh dill, 5 bunches of green onions (instead of white), 1 pound of crumbled feta and 3/4 cup parmesan (no additional salt needed). Use a rimmed cookie sheet and butter 1/2 of a pkg. a phyllo dough and put in the pan. Then add the spinach filling, then butter of other 1/2 of dough. Cut into squares or triangles and bake. The fresh ingredients really make it delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This recipe is great. I like to add lots of fresh lemon and onion also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Westfall

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I used to make these years ago when my kids were small. I'd make them to go with dinner and then we would snack on the rest. Out west was no problem fnding the philo, but I'm finding here on the southern east coast, people don't know what it is. My mouth waters just thinking of these! I might try the puff pastry as noted on here! What a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Phyllo dough is really fussy so to make my life a little bit easier (and as recommended by another reviewer), I opted to layer the phyllo and spinach mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States