Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I have been in love with the Spanakopita that a local place serves, and couldn't wait to try this recipe! So good!! Did make a few changes though. Used fresh spinach and sauteed it with one onion and a teaspoon of garlic. Added an extra container of feta cheese, and a handful of parmesan cheese. I omitted the extra salt and glad I did so because the feta is salty enough, and only used 2 eggs. Turned out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Mayo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is my standard recipe that I go to every time I need an appetizer. The flavor in this is outstanding especially with some tzadziki sauce. (and yes, I know my spelling is off on that). Work fast with the phyllo. It will dry out faster than you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This recipie is sooo good! My whole family is always pleading for me to make more. I do change one thing and that is that I double the feta cheese. I found that when I didnt it was more spinach than I liked. It is really easy to make although it is very time consuming, although I think its worth every minute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Thank you wonderful For the whole family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I have never made anything like these before. Followed the recipe to the letter, it was much easier than I though and they tasted GREAT!! I can honestly say I have never eaten anything like this before either, but my husband and I LOVED them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Delicious! Quick tips: I used a pizza cutter to make the strips of phyllo. I only used one package of phyllo, which made 36 tarts. I only ended up using about a cup of butter. I made it just like the recipe says, but it would also be good with a little ricotta or some chopped artichoke hearts. This was a dry filling, not a creamy one, but it was very tasty. I am a fan! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Opal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This is a great recipe, very reminiscent of what I ate in Greece. I only do two things differently - I add a tiny bit of lemon juice to the vegetable mixture and I also use fresh baby spinach because I think the frozen kind is gross. I made it in a jelly roll pan, spread thin with the phyllo and then cut into squares, it was thin and delicious. I only did it that way because I had doubled the recipe for a party and didn't have the time to make all the triangles. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was a perfect recipe. I recieived rave reviews. It is going to be one of my staple dinner recipes. Quick and simple. I used the quantities for 27 servings, but ...... layered in a 9x13 baking dish and baked for about 35 minutes. rather than butter, I sprayed the layers of phyllo with a cooking spray. this really cuts the calories and fat. this is better than our local Greek places serve. Don't remember when I added this review... But here we are 2014 and still loving this recipe. So does everyone who has it. Just finished throwing it in the oven, it took about 20 min to put it together. I have quit browning the onions and mix them in raw with the other ingredients. Can hardly wait to eat..... serving it with pork skewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
great!! the dill makes the difference... I love the idea someone had about phyllo cups and will try next time. I did it as a casserole (the triangles daunted me). That worked out fine, but still fussing with phyllo is the hardest part of the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Alston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
ok... please don't anyone yell at me. i changed this recipe to be spanakopita my way, so maybe not really spanakopita anymore, but very yummy! sauteed some onions and added 2 boxes of frozen, squeezed dry spinach . seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. threw in grated cheese and 8oz of shredded mont-jack cheese. let the cheese melt. no eggs. filled mini phyllo shells and baked 10-12 minutes. beyond good!! spanakopita my way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States