Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
The spinach and feta stuffing is very tasty. I liked the dill undertones. I constructed this in a 9x13 baking dish using an 8 oz package of phyllo dough sheets. This seemed to save time, though the result was somewhat soggy (yet tasty). Next time, if I can set aside more time, I plan to try to make the triangles as recommended by the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This recipe has become a staple. The freezer is no longer complete without a batch of it. I love having it ready for unexpected company, for a guaranteed hit at a potluck, or just a special dinner for the two of us. I make the pastries slightly larger. I take one sheet, put butter on half, fold over, cut in half, use a bit more filling. Ah, the thrill of having mastered the triangle! My sincere thanks for this. This recipe also helps to use the glut of frozen leafy garden greens. It works with swiss chard, or half chard and half kale. You may have to simmer a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Living In: Nakusp, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! I was in a bit of a hurry and used the ready made Phyllo shells for a holiday party. The appetizer received rave reviews from everyone at the party. I made some small changes to the recipe. I only used 1 onion, omitted the flour and used 2 eggs. The fresh dill in the recipe makes the taste amazing. This will be a go-to appetizer in the future. Thank you for sharing, Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cararox
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
These were wonderful! I prepared them (wrapped them up but didn't cook them) and stored them in the freezer. Took them out when we needed them and put them straight in the oven at 350 for an hour and they were perfect! This also makes it really convenient to choose how many you want to bake right then, and put the rest away for another day. One substitution I used was 1 tbs of dried dill instead of 2 tbs of fresh, but only because I didn't have any fresh on hand. A great vegetarian recipe, thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This is a great recipe! Phyllo is easy to use - once you have done it. The flavor and the ingredients are great so even if the first ones don't look perfect they will taste good and the more you fold the easier it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I used this recipe but used 6 oz feta, 6 oz swiss and 6 oz parmesean.... Absolutely wonderful!!. Increased the spinach to 3 pkgs.. If you have Phyllo dough that comes in about a 12 " sheet. just cut in in half and now you can use 1 (or 2) sheets per tablespoon of filling and it makes it easier to handle and faster. Just fold and brush with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmette, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Fabulous recipe! I added a couple cloves of garlic and made them the night before I needed them, put them in the freezer overnight and thawed and baked the next day and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I've made this dish multiple time over the past 2 or 3 years and my family loves it. It is a little time consuming putting the mix on the phyllo dough and folding it up but soooo worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonnabacop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hopewell, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Just as good as the spana I get at my favourite greek restaurant! I layered it in a 9x13 pan as suggested by another user. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This was the first time I've made Spanakopita. I found it a bit time consuming but once I got the hang of making them it went quicker. I love them!! I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States