Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
These were really time consuming, but in my opinion worth the effort. The only thing I would change is seasoning; I minced garlic and added it to the softened onions and continued to sautee' them until they started to brown 30-60 seconds. Don't be afraid to add the salt & pepper, because you'll need it. I used goats cheese instead of the feta and they turned out wonderfully. These were Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Tidy, yummy, and very satisfying. I didn't have dill but it was still very delicious. I used some good quality feta and quite a bit of pepper. Can't wait to try it again with the fresh dill. Worth the effort! Best if you can get a helper for assembly, so the dough doesn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was a good recipe. 4 stars only becase I made changes. I used 2 eggs and NO oil, (I used only about a tablespoon to saute garlic/onion) No flour, I aslo added a 12 oz container of cottage cheese. Saute garlic & onion in olive oil. Mix into spinach (I squeeze dry in a paper towel). Beat eggs add Cottage cheese, mix add feta. Mix cheese mixture with spinach mixture. Use a rubber scraper to get onions mixed in well. start by brushing pan with melted butter, add a sheet of phyllo dough, build from there. Reserve about 6-8 sheets of dough for top. Slice on a diagonal about 1/2 way through, prior to baking. 40 mins should be perfect~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sondra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This seems very authentic. But, it's not what I'm used to, so I didn't care for it very much. I didn't think it had enough cheese in it, and the phyllo was like eating parchment paper. If you were raised with this though, I'm sure it's wonderful. If you want to be adventurous, give it a try. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naryia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I am part greek and though this recipe is similiar to my moms there are a few changes we would make; #1-change the veg oil for a better quality cold pressed olive oil.#2-as all Greeks know be sure to add plenty of sauteed garlic with one whole onion diced.#3-use fresh spinach that is wilted in the pan of sauteed onion/garlic. #4-omit the eggs.#5-when mixing ingrediants be sure to add 4-6 sprigs of fresh thyme.#6-my idea-mom hated it but instead of brushing on melted butter I spray butter flavoered Pam no-stick spray.This cuts out SOmany caleries and I prefer my Spanakopeda to not be greasy.#7-brush tops with stirred egg white and use egg-white to seal phyllo parcels.This is a good Base recipe kind of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lv2ck

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
very good. only used 2 eggs after reading the reviews and used some more salt and olive oil and left the dill out b/c I didn't have any. I made a square pie versus the triangles to save some time on the prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
AMAZING! Fresh dill a must. I didn't make triangles - I just baked it in an 8 x 8 following other reviewers advice. I have made it without the dough as well - kind of like a spinach casserole. This was only because we were tight on our food budget otherwise definitely prefer the phyllo dough. It is not too difficult to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Excellent recipe! Tried these for Thanksgiving and they were a hit. Perhaps it was because I was a novice, but 30 mins prep (as the recipe instructed) was way off. I spent almost 2 hours folding the phyllo. (That could have been because I like my triangles really bitesize.) But it was well worth it in the end and I will be making these again. They were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
We made this for Thanksgiving yesterday and it was wonderful! Took the advice of a previous reviewer and replaced the flour with 1/3 cup brown rice medley (from TJs), used garlic and herb feta along with basic feta cheese. This is a time consuming recipe and I needed my husband to help assemble (to keep the phyllo dough covered yet make it quick enough so it wouldn't dry out). How do people do this by themselves? Great, great recipe and a treat for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENVG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
tried this last night for my fiance as a surprise..he came from greece when he was 12 i've never done anything greek because i can't compete with the "real thing" well let me say he was really impressed! i am trying a few alterations at his suggestion the next time to reduce the greasiness (no egg) but otherwise it was great phyllo dough really hard to work with though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States