Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
A lot better and easier than I thought it would be. Thanks to the reviewer who outlined how to lay down the phyllo sheets in a dish (I opted to make this in a glass dish instead of making little triangles). It turned out flaky and delicious with a surprisingly tasty filling. I'd probably add a little more salt or maybe substitute a flavored feta (like garlic and herb) instead of using the plain. I also added about 2 tsp minced garlic to the onions. Used dried dill because I didn't have fresh on hand. Made half the recipe and this worked really well in an 8 x 8 inch dish. Thanks for this one - easy, tasty, impressive. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I would recommend using butter just on the outside and not between layers. It was to much. The spinach mixture is phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cos Cob, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magpie
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Marvelous! i just made a few changes. First i did the recipe on half and made mini pitas this made about 30...instead of frying the onions with oil i used Pam, and I also used Pam instead of butter. I took three sheets of phyllo dough spraying Pam in between each sheet. Than cut the dough in thirds...putting the mixture on the dough and rolled into triangles. Spray Pam to keep edges together and to keep pitas from falling apart. If you have extra dough grate some apples with cinnamon and a bit sugar and do the same process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Easy to make, looks fancy, great appetizer, loved it!! the fresh dill is the key to this dish:) Thanks!! Brings me back to Greece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Spanakopita is a favorite dish in my family and this is a very traditional recipe. The only changes I would make would be to use olive oil rather than vegetable oil and in my family, we will also add lightly toasted pine nuts which gives you the nice, nutty texture now and then, as well as a lovely marrying of flavors with the other ingredients. Also, another review may have mentioned it, though I have not read through all of them, but when working with phyllo, it is best to use a slightly damp towel to cover the dough. The directions state to use the plastic but I would fear that it would still dry out too much. Phyllo is a bit time intensive and temperamental to assemble, but it's well worth it in the end. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Hot and crispy spanakopita. I love the fresh dill. Athens Filo dough comes in 9"x14" sheets, ~40 per 1# box. These are perfect for cutting into 3"x14" strips. Recipe uses up almost 1 box, not the 1-1/2 boxes as called for. There were 4 sheets left over. Follow directions on box for handling filo dough. Recipe uses less than 2 sticks of butter, not the 3 sticks called for. Remelt the butter if it solidifies. We ended up with 54, 3"x3"x4.25" triangles. I baked one sheet of 18 spanakopita and froze the rest for baking later. I baked them at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes. Frozen will probably need to bake longer. We will definitely make this again. My husband promptly ate six, hot out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Perfection! I wouldn't change anything about this recipe! Phyllo is a pain to work with, but worth the suffering. I simply waited until everything else was ready, only then did I open the phyllo which made it easier to work with as it didn't have time to dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I found these to be pretty eggy, and not as cheesy as I am accustomed to. However, I will be trying this again (with less egg and more cheese) because it is so close to the taste of the ones I miss from the restaurants in my hometown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColdHeartedKitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DaMora
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Loved 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaMora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
These are fantastic! My only complaint is that you really do not need to season with salt because the feta is so salty, as a result mine was a little too salty but I still loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie the Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States