Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I used this recipe but used 6 oz feta, 6 oz swiss and 6 oz parmesean.... Absolutely wonderful!!. Increased the spinach to 3 pkgs.. If you have Phyllo dough that comes in about a 12 " sheet. just cut in in half and now you can use 1 (or 2) sheets per tablespoon of filling and it makes it easier to handle and faster. Just fold and brush with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmette, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Fabulous recipe! I added a couple cloves of garlic and made them the night before I needed them, put them in the freezer overnight and thawed and baked the next day and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I've made this dish multiple time over the past 2 or 3 years and my family loves it. It is a little time consuming putting the mix on the phyllo dough and folding it up but soooo worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonnabacop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hopewell, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Just as good as the spana I get at my favourite greek restaurant! I layered it in a 9x13 pan as suggested by another user. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This was the first time I've made Spanakopita. I found it a bit time consuming but once I got the hang of making them it went quicker. I love them!! I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Excellent. Added more feta cheese than this recipe called for though, and a tad more dill too. Season all salt instead of regular salt for more flavor. So easy to make and looks/tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Phyllo pastry was not as difficult to work with as some reviewers made it to be. We definitely did not make 27 triangles, but perhaps we stuffed our triangles too full! Very filling and very delicious - 45 min was perfect, but waiting for them to cool enough to eat them was torture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Exellent job Mary! This is the best recipe I've seen for authentic Greek Spanakopita :)! I agree with THELASTBARON 100% about not using other cheeses and most definitely NO cinnamon! I would like to add though that being Greek and being around my family who makes this all the time, we also add a bunch of green onion, this adds to the flavour and gives it the extra sweetness! Once again high five to Mary for a true Greek pita :)! Ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grkcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This recipe is AMAZING! I made it in a glass pan instead of making individual ones as one member suggested and it was so easy. I also used cooking spray instead of butter between layers to cut calories and this worked well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiljaMoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
My guests really enjoyed this appetizer. The feta cheese is pretty salty so next time I'll omit adding any extra salt to the spinach mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States