Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
scrumptious and flavourful...i dont think using salt in the spinach mixture is necessary because i didnt, the feta cheese adds enough saltiness and flavour to them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
WATCH THE VIDEO! Not only will you yield more than 60 with the ingredients listed in the recipe, it also makes the process so much easier. Before putting then in the oven, I put a bit of butter on the top and then some sesame seeds. They looks beautiful and taste delicious. WATCH THE VIDEO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
After reading all the reviews this is what I did. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil to cook the onions, before adding the onions, I minced 2 garlic cloves and sauted them. I actually forgot to add the fresh dill. I omitted the flour. I used 3/4 lb of fresh spinach,steamed it,chopped it up and added it to the onions and garlic. I only used 3 eggs. To the feta cheese mixture, I added about 2 tbsp of fresh lemon juice. These were so easy to assemble. Just a note to not worry about figuring out how to fold them. On the box of Phyllo are all the ways you can bake with phyllo and it clearly states how to make the triangles. Also I didn't use 3/4 lb of butter...I used about 1/4 lb. for the whole batch! I cooked these for about 20 minutes `When my company ate these last night - they said "these are as good as..pardon me...even BETTER than that restaurant! In other words...a real hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E Goddard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I substituted out 1/4 of the spinach for an equal amount of cream cheese (since I'm not actually Greek I can get away with it ;). I accidentally left out the egg and these still turned out great. Even without the added volume of the egg, I still yielded about 28 when using about 2 tbsp of filling in each. I took two sheets of phyllo, buttered in between them, then used a pizza cutter to slice the combined sheets into thirds from the long side. A lot of work, but they got a great reception!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I have made this several times now and it comes out perfect everytime. This sure does impress company!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gunpackingrandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Tahoe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Tasty. I make these appetizer-sized. We've traditionally always used green onions in the filling and a dash of nutmeg too. I brush the tops with a mixture of butter/oil before baking. You can also freeze them before baking to store for when company's coming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I go to 'Taste of the Danforth' every year, an annual Greek festival and buy a frozen Spanakopita from this nice little Greek lady at her bakery. I really didn't think I'd be able to find one as good as hers. I'm both happy and sad to say that I won't be buying one next year - this was absolutely fabulous!! Thank-you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I've made this recipe for potlucks a few times and its ALWAYS a huge hit. My timesaver suggestion? I layer it in a 9x13 glass pyrex pan instead of making individual triangles. It cuts PERFECTLY into squares that are easily servable without falling apart. I brush the pan with melted butter, layer 3 sheets of phyllo with a little melted butter on each layer and spread half of the spinach filling. I place 3 more sheets of phyllo and butter, then the rest of the spinach mixture and another 3 sheets of phyllo on top. Use a knife to cut a few slits to allow steam to escape. This is SOOO much quicker than individual traingles if you dont have the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
682 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I added extra feta and dill as I often have found that store-bought ones don't have nearly enough for my personal taste, and without the cheese they can be a bit dry. With these modifications, they turned out GREAT --- they were a big hit as an appetizer at my dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I made this for my book club and they were fantastic! While the spanakopitas are a little labour intensive, they are definitely worth the effort. Like others have suggested, I only bought 1 package of phyllo pastry and baked the spanakopitas approx 25 mins. I recommend cutting 6 sheets of phyllo lengthwise into 4 strips, which makes 24 spanakopitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States