Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Great! First time using phyllo and it was a little challenging but well worth it. I used 2 eggs instead of 4, 1 large onion instead of 2, sauteed some garlic with it and included some parm cheese as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
These are restaurant-quality or better. Worth the effort. I read all the reviews and incorporated a lot of the tips given that I thought would work well for me in regard to the rolling and the flavor. I did the 1-sheet, fold-in-half, then fold into flags technique and I also did the egg-roll style with 1-sheet. I used butter flavored Pam spray. I also used only 2 eggs, added a bit of garlic, lemon juice and nutmeg. The filling just needs to be tweaked to your liking. That said.....LOVED THEM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
It was well received, but I thought it would be better with more feta. Good tasting as is though! I only had to cook mine for 25 minutes (in triangle form).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I added a couple scoops of cottage cheese for a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Best ever. If I could give it more than five stars, I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Yummy! I made it for the first time for a Greek party. It was really easy but took about 2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
great! my first time making spanakopita i really like feta so i added an extra 1/2 to the recommended amount, and a bit more dill than called for. also i made rolls - way less time consuming. will be making this again - soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This was very tasty. I rolled them like egg rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
awesome the bf loved them, the only thing i did differently was rolled it into a log with the phyllo dough and cut it into triangles, it was much easier this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
My daughter had to make Greek food for a school project and I thought, even though I know it's not the traditional preparation, individual servings would be good. In theory, it is. However, unless you are experienced at working with phyllo dough, the prep time is MUCH longer than 30 minutes. It took me well over an hour just to roll up the triangles. The flavor was pretty good. I agree with some others who said there was too much dill. I also think I would use less onion (maybe one large) and maybe more spinach. One last tip I got from a friend with a Greek wife (after I had already made them) - cut the feta with cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Watervliet, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States