Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Yummy! I made it for the first time for a Greek party. It was really easy but took about 2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
great! my first time making spanakopita i really like feta so i added an extra 1/2 to the recommended amount, and a bit more dill than called for. also i made rolls - way less time consuming. will be making this again - soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This was very tasty. I rolled them like egg rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
awesome the bf loved them, the only thing i did differently was rolled it into a log with the phyllo dough and cut it into triangles, it was much easier this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
My daughter had to make Greek food for a school project and I thought, even though I know it's not the traditional preparation, individual servings would be good. In theory, it is. However, unless you are experienced at working with phyllo dough, the prep time is MUCH longer than 30 minutes. It took me well over an hour just to roll up the triangles. The flavor was pretty good. I agree with some others who said there was too much dill. I also think I would use less onion (maybe one large) and maybe more spinach. One last tip I got from a friend with a Greek wife (after I had already made them) - cut the feta with cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Watervliet, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Wow! Loved this, added more feta and a little parsley, but so amazing. Thought we wouldn't have room for dinner after eating these yummy appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Loved it! I made it as a pie instead of individual pastries and it turned out wonderfully. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
These were terrific. I made a half batch but kept the cheese the same amount. They took a long time to roll out, it was my first time working with phyllo, and I was thinking that they weren't worth the time...until I ate one! I will definitley make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goosegreetings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
The recipe isn't clear on working with the phyllo dough, although you can consult the box for instructions. To make the triangles I made one by taking a sheet and buttering half long-wise, then folded the sheet over. Then I folded it into triangles. I also made them smaller by cutting the sheet in half long-wise first and then following the same method as above with each half sheet. The small size would be perfect for appetizers. Note that 4 oz feta is 1 cup. The phyllo bakes quickly so I only cooked the pastries for 20 minutes. I think that I dried my spinach too much before cooking it. It would have become more tender in the frying pan with more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I absolutely loved the filling. It was hard to keep from eating it my itself. I added some parmesan simply because I like it. Because I am a lazy chef, instead of layering the 2 sheets of phyllo, I simply folded each in half lengthwise after buttering it, then started the flag style folding. Works well, and you won't have to worry about ending up with an odd number of phyllo sheets. I'd heard using cooking spray instead of butter works well enough for people trying to watch their diets. I tried that on the last few. The results were impressive enough. After all, the filling is the star here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States