Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by THOM79
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Only needed half a package of phyllo dough. I must have misunderstood the directions. Tastes perfect though!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOM79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Added mint, parsley, green onion and nutmeg per how I was taught in Greece. Yummmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
The filling is delicious. I added a couple tablespoons of Parmesan cheese. The problem I had was the assembly, trying the 3" wide with various lengths and filling amounts. The best ones were 1 tbsp filling with 3 x 3 1/2 inch squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Good but next time I will add garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I follow this recipe as written. These are easy to make, they taste fantastic and the triangles look beautiful. I have tried them with light feta and the decreased sodium content does leave them a bit bland so I prefer using regular feta in this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Oh. My. Stars. I made this just as the recipe directed, and I am in HEAVEN! I forgot to thaw my phyllo dough, so I zapped it for 30 seconds at 50% power in the microwave, which thawed it just enough. Don't be afraid of the phyllo dough! Do a quick search if you're unfamiliar with how to handle it, and you'll be fine! I did an extra layer of butter on the top of the dough before filling/folding (mostly because... butter). The only problem is the self-control I'm going to have to muster to save a few for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I used. 2 boxes if spinach ,but only 1 box of phyllo. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I did alter the recipe slightly. I combined this with a friend's scaled-down version of what he uses in his catering business. I added about 2 cups of thinly sliced crimini mushrooms, upped the feta to 16 ounces, crumbled (buy the block/chunk feta rather than buying pre-crumbled. It's more moist.) I also added two cloves of minced garlic and about 1 to 1-1/2 tsp dried rosemary (I prefer fresh, but my bush died.) The two tips I would offer are: DON'T CUT THE PHYLLO!!! It's so prone to tearing as-is, trying to cut it just aggravates this. Instead, I buter about 1/2 of the sheet, then fold it on top of itself lengthwise. It works out just the same as if you cut it in half, then layered it. On some of them I used just one sheet of phyllo (two layers) and on others, I layered one sheet on top of another, then folded it onto itself, for a total of 4 layers. (I added slightly more filling to these.) I still haven't been able to figure out which way I prefer it. I think with the larger layers & more filling. Another suggestion is to shape it into rolls, rather than triangles -- less fussing. Next batch, I freeze, to see how well they turn out! I can definitely see adding these to my entertaining collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Excellent! Followed other reviewer's advice and layered in a lasagna pan, so good! Would not make any alterations to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Perfect - just as the recipe called for. Loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States