Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I live in Michigan ...and this taste like the pie i get from one of the Greek Town resturants. Thank you so much!!! My hubby loved it!!! and we are very picky I used butter for my phyllo dough and I added a little salt and pepper, dill weed and nutmeg...Very, Very, good :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Stop reading and start cooking! This is a great recipe that even makes dealing with phyllo dough worth it. Cucumber salad with mint yogurt dressing is the perfect side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
I am not really a spinach fan, but I loved this. I mean I absolutely loved this! My family of six loved more than I did. It was a little time comnsuming, but definetly worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This was an excellent recipe. I used the same amount of filling for a 9 x 13 inch pan and it was well proportioned (I added a little extra feta). I would definitely suggest straining the spinach mixture before spreading over the phyllo dough. Excellent flavor!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
A big hit! Instead of phylo pastry I used puff pastry and made 8 portions from one rolled puff pastry dough. I sealed it with egg lightly brushed on the dough. Recipe made 32 portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
I made this one about three weeks ago and it was incredible. Really really tasty. I am making this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
This Pie was fantastic! My dinner party loved it. I am glad though that I could learn from MCIPOLLA's mistake about the stems. I would have never thought of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This was very good, though a bit time consuming. But it was worth it. I will probably use more feta next time, and possibly no ricotta. It had a great flavor and kept well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
What a hit! Even the spinach-haters loved this and had seconds! I used a few layers of pastry in the centre to break up the filling a bit. The greek food lovers said this was a nice addition to the thick spinach filling. Will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
I loved this fresh alternative to the usual fare. My family voted for extra feta and ricotta cheeses. I might try it that way in the future but it was perfect (as is) for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States