Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
very bland, with additional spices (thyme, basil) with salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Delicious and easy to make. I used a tip from a chef, instead of brushing each fillo sheet I just sprayed it with canola oil cooking spray which cut down on the saturated fat. I also recommend increasing the fillo to 10 sheets and cutting it prior to cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
A wonderful, buttery tasting, rich recipe! The choice of feta seems to matter, as I've made it with 2 different kinds. The first was from feta purchased at our farmer's market and the second was from a commercially purchased cheese. The first one was the best, by far, being much richer and creamy. I used prewashed baby spinach and was very happy I did as it cut down some of the prep time. Like I said, I've made it twice and DH is requesting it as a weekly regular! Thanks for the great recipe, Silverwolf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwinsville, New York, USA
Living In: Deep River, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Turned out to be a huge treat. I learned some valuable lessons with this recipe. If you're using a recipe be sure to read it and follow it, more or less. If you're doubling the recipe that means twice as much of each ingredient. Not twice for some and four times for others. There is such a thing as TOO much phyllo. (I was never going to use the leftover in the time recommended on the box so I added the extra to the top.) It's like I have a phyllo loaf with a nice spinach spread; still tasty, but too much phyllo. All things considered, I thought the recipe easy to prepare with a nice finished product. I’ll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I followed the directions precisely and it came out soupy. Definitely very important to squeeze the excess moisture out of the spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrem3

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
pat??daaaaa!!!! all time classic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frikase

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was great, I add a 12 oz carton of ricotta though, I like my spanakopita cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bostoncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
If you are using the processed Feta - it will not contain the flavor of imported Feta you can get in bulk at some stores. Depending on which you choose it varries greatly in the amount of sodium it contains. See if the store will let you try a sample or 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Excellent recipe! I like the way they prepare the spinach for this dish. I will use this in other recipes that include spinach, because it is very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States