Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
simply loved. I followed another reviewers advice and doubled the feta, added dill. Simply delicious! Served with a side of Tzatziki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I made this yesterday and added some ground turkey to it. I put 6 phyllo sheets on the bottom of the pan and 6 phyllo sheets on top. Sprayed each sheet with olive oil and the top sheet with melted butter. I have to agree with people that it is quite bland, spices and salt are missing for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicciluvsya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
You know This recipe is pretty darn good using regular pie crust if you cant find philo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
My family loves this recipe. It's one of our favorites. I had made it for a potluck & it was all gone! Everyone enjoyed t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I altered this recipe slightly by using all feta and no ricotta, as well as adding dill. I used the drying technique suggested by squeezing the spinach between two plates and will do this again. Next time I will add more sheets of pyillo, especially on the bottom. Overall I really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
How do you say delicious in Greek! A great vegetarian dish and pretty easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Despite cooking off every ounce of liquid and draining the cooked spinach, it was still soggy. I used twelve sheets of phyllo and the filling was still too abundant-and I made a 9x13 pan. And the filling wasn't that flavorful. I tried it hot, warm, and cold and it just wasn't as good as I can get at any of the Mediterranean restaurants around town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I decided to make this dish as I had a lot of fresh spinach I needed to consume. It wasn't the baby variety unfortunately so I spent an awful lot of time cleaning and de-stemming. However it was definitely worth the effort! My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. Modifications I made: I didn't have ricotta so I doubled the quantity of feta. I added seasoning to the egg / feta mixture as well as a generous sprinkle of nutmeg. I cooked the spinach separately to ensure all moisture was removed first and then I added this to the onions and garlic which I sweated in butter and seasoned with dill. All in all a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This was good but I thought it was on the bland side. I used cottage cheese instead of ricotta to lighten up (calories) the recipe. I also added salt and pepper but the dish still needed more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This wasn't as good as I expected it to be :( It needs more cheese and more seasoning... I wanted to flavor it up a bit and added black pepper & dill based on what I saw for other spanakopita recipes, but I wanted to stay true to the original recipe so I didn't add that much, unfortunately. It's not that it's BAD, it's just not special enough for the effort that was required
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States