Spam on the Go Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
There is definitely a stigma on Spam here in Oregon. While I was preparing this recipe my friend came over and thought it smelled so good until I told her what it was. She then gave me this "You're actually going to feed that to your family?" look. Anyway, about the recipe: very good, very simple and very tasty. My 2 small children, my husband and I demolished it in one sitting. Simple recipe that uses pantry ingredients you have on hand. Good for those "It's-6oclock-and-I-don't-know-what-to-make" nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TDAWNP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
I am a closet Spam lover and my husband loves it too. We enjoyed this. My husband wasn't sure until he tried it though. Mmmmmmmmm. I had to come back and change this to excellent because my husband keeps asking me to make it again and he rarely does that with any recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
This is Wonderful! I went ahead and started another pan with Oriental style Frozen Veggies and added it to the pot with the spam and noodles... Wow! It was so good - we loved it!!! I used Hickory Smoke Spam because that was all I had on hand -- YUM!! Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRAZYKEL028

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Great recipe and awesome leftovers. I like to cook the spam so it is a little crispy and add the onion and garlic during the crisping process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
My husband loved this recipe! I didn't have seasame oil, but it still tasted great without it. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Really good, especially with furikake. Kinda greasy though. I'll probably use little or no vegetable oil when sauteeing the spam next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This was very good with slight modifications per other reviewers suggestions. I didn't use vegetable oil to fry the spam because the spam has plenty of fat in it to fry by itself as long as you're using a non-stick skillet. I also doubled the garlic, green onion, soy sauce & sesame oil but left out the water (by accident but it was great!). The best part about this is it can be on the table within 15-20 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This was good! My hubby (not a spam lover) didn't know it was spam until he found the recipe! I chopped up the spam really small and it looked and tasted like sausage. Here are the changes I made: I used half whole wheat and half spinach pasta, added a splash of worchestershire sauce, and a splash of Texas Pete hot sauce. Very yummy! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
My family thought this was extremely greasy and heavy. If I tried it again I would use less oil with the spam. My husband is Japanese as well but he thought this was too heavy a dish. The Spam was good and the noodles were good but not together. The spa m would go great with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
This was a real surprise. A wonderfully tasty recipe, and one that reheats especially well for lunch at work in the coming days :-) Also, this is quite easy to prepare which is a big plus. I used 1/2 tbsp garlic powder instead of the garlic clove, a chopped (small) white onion instead of green, and added a bit more black pepper to give it a stronger bite. Absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States