Spam on the Go Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I saw the recipe and knew that the ingredients were something to form a basis with. I read the instructions and thought they needed refinement though. The flavor is great and will probably make it again. The way I made it was to use thin spaghetti and I cut the SPAM into 1/2" cubes. The thin spaghetti only needs 6 minutes. Right after I put the pasta in I threw the SPAM cubes into a preheated 12' non-stick skillet and sauteed in a light coat of olive oil for 4 minutes. Then, I threw in one clove of finely grated fresh garlic for 2 more minutes (I don't saute garlic too hard because it'll turn to a rancid flavor). I drained the pasta and dumped it into the skillet and added the soy sauce and sesame oil mixture (pre-measure both and just put into a condiment cup or bowl and just toss in when needed). I then tossed the pasta. As you toss the pasta into the SPAM sauce slice and incorporate the green section of a green onion (1/4" slice). The green onion is delicate and only needs to be heated through a bit to add the flavor, aroma, and texture. The recipe only says to use one green onion but I'll probably try 2 next time because it just seemed to be lost somewhere in all the pasta and meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Really quick enjoyable meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lipkisspink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I love this! My friend came over , & we cooked this. I had all the ingredients so I didn't need to go buy anything ! I recommend adding a slice of butter & if you like garlic,use 1 1/2 clove . & use 1 whole can of spam . We used half & it was not enough ! & it said serving for 6 , but it turns out it serves only 3. & don't use a cup Of water . Use at least 2 tablespoons tO mix everything together. & that's it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Great recipe and awesome leftovers. I like to cook the spam so it is a little crispy and add the onion and garlic during the crisping process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This is so good I tweak it a bit and it turned out good. My family loved it I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This was very easy to make. I added extra soy sauce, onion and garlic. I also reduced the amount of water. This meal was okay. Not my favorite and I wouldn't make it all the time. When I'm low on food and on a budget then I'll put this recipe out of the box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This was very good with slight modifications per other reviewers suggestions. I didn't use vegetable oil to fry the spam because the spam has plenty of fat in it to fry by itself as long as you're using a non-stick skillet. I also doubled the garlic, green onion, soy sauce & sesame oil but left out the water (by accident but it was great!). The best part about this is it can be on the table within 15-20 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I am not a spam eater, but I tried this and I loved it, I did not use oil, I put all the ingredients in a plate and microwaved it :). But i did add some avocado and it was so awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
What a great way to use leftover ham! I was afraid that the water would make it too bland, so I added extra sauce, but it was very hot, so I may not do that next time. I used Iron Chef Sesame Garlic sauce instead of soy sauce, and wheat spaghetti to make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
We just moved from Hawaii so I made this to fulfill fond memories. It was very good! Those who made it without sesame oil, I highly suggest try it again with because I think that really made this dish taste like Hawaii fried noodles. The same goes for the soy sauce. I will definitely make this again but next time I will add julienne carrots and also slice the spam like that rather than chunk it. That will make this dish seem more like the fried noodles I had in HI. You could possibly add some cabbage to it too if you really wanted it authentic. All in all my husband and I both loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clare, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States