Spam Musubi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I've been making spam musubi like this for years, except that I omit the oyster sauce, add a little ginger, bake the marinated spam at 350 deg F for 8-10 minutes, and sprinkle toasted black and white sesame seeds onto the molded rice. Here's a tip: use the spam can as a mold by CAREFULLY cutting the bottom out of it with an x-acto knife. Also, it helps if you use "pre-toasted" nori sheets. Untoasted nori can be tough. Another tip to keep the rice from sticking to your hands; have a bowl of water handy to wet your hands and the musubi mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
306 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
growing up in hawaii, i ate spam musubi all the time. i've always made it with a sugar and soy sauce marinade but when i saw this recipe with oyster sauce, i thought i'd give it a try. i made two kinds to see if i could taste the difference and the one with the oyster sauce is the way to go. it really adds that extra something that makes a great spam musubi. i was shocked because i didn't think it would make that much of a difference, but it did. note that using non toasted nori can be really chewy and therefore can be difficult to eat. i use korean seaweed instead, which is usually toasted and seasoned with sesame oil and salt. you can get it at a korean market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Being an "Island Boy," I like to find recipes for 'local' food. It reminds me of home and is usually considered comfort food to me. I've been making musubi for years but have never made it with the marinade. Very good! Like others suggested, cook on low heat. That sugar will start to caramelize real quick and burn if your heat is too high. I put some furikake mix in with the rice just for some extra flavor. You can get furikake mix from many asian food stores. I usually get the basic 'nori komi' mix (great over steamed rice too). I make big batches and individually saran-wrap them. Perfect on the go snack. Regular steamed rice works fine. No need to soak for four hours. Just wash it and cook it like you would normally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
After going to Hawaii for the first time a few years ago, my fiance and I fell in love with spam musubi. I'm so glad that I found this recipe. BUT, I really don't like oyster sauce (I did a test batch of 2 spam slices marinated as directed in this recipe, and didn't like the way it came out) and after doing a bit more research for other musubi recipes online, I decided to substitute the oyster sauce with mirin (Japanese sweet cooking wine that you can find at any Asian grocery store/market). YUMMY YUM YUM!!! It was perfect, just like in Hawaii! My fiance couldn't get enough! (And neither could I!) TIPS: You don't have to use sushi rice, regular rice is just fine. When you cook the marinated spam slices, be sure to do it at a low heat, as the sugar in the marinade really does make the spam burn very easily. When I assembled my musubi, I kept a small bowl of water next to me to continually wet my fingers and the musubi maker (as well as using it to seal the seaweed strips). Speaking of the seaweed, before you cut it into strips, be sure to "toast" it - simply take each sheet and quickly make three-four passes over your stove burner and it will toast fine (don't let it linger over the burner or have the burner set too high or it will burn). I'll definitely keep this recipe as one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Sawyer Adamson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is a great recipe. But it doesn't have to be that hard. My family just uses calrose rice (fresh or day old), Spam, and nori. The only thing we do to the spam is fry it in brown sugar and shoyu. But, I'm sure this makes really great spam musubis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I'm from Hawaii and I love making/eating spam musubi. Recipe looks good, I would suggest buying a musubi maker from any Japanese market, it will make the end product a lot easier to make. To add more flavor to the rice, I add 1 cup of rice vinegar with 1 cup sugar mixed into the hot rice just after it's finished cooking (for 3 cups of uncooked rice). I would try to get 10-14 slices from 1 can of spam for best spam to rice ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
On our 7th trip to the Hawaiian Islands, we finally tried Spam Musubi! It is "ono"! I have to say I only used this recipe as a guideline. I made a few changes. I marinaded the spam in teriyaki, and cut nori into 1 1/2 inch strips. I also bought a musubi mold, which I got in Maui, but you can buy them online. Dip mold in water before molding each musubi, it will make removal much easier. Also lay a piece of plastic wrap on flat surface, lay nori on top, center mold and fill with rice then spam and then rice again, press. Remove mold, wrap seaweed around rice and wrap in plastic. I gave my sister two musubi's to take home...one for her and for her husband...she ate both! Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
The marinade was delicious. I didn't know it was the oyster sauce that was missing when I tried making this at home before. It's my favorite breakfast food. I used low sodium soy sauce and low sodium Spam and went easy on the sugar. Turn on a fan and let it blow the vinegar off the rice for a lovely shine while you cook the meat. Don't crank up the heat too much under the meat or the marinade will burn. If shaping by hand, wet your hands in water and squish the rice into shape. I am used to rice sandwiching both sides of the meat. I also like the furikake or goma seasoning (black and white sesame seeds toasted with salt) sprinkled all over it for crunch. This is sacrilege, but I have used a thin sheet of egg omelette instead of nori for my seaweed fearing husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Hubby and I had SPAM musubi everyday when we were in Hawaii. I couldn't figure out what's the "secret sauce" that made it so good. When I tried out this recipe, I was surprised that the "secret sauce" is a combination of something so commonly found in a Chinese kitchen. A few suggestions - 1. use low sodium SPAM and soy sauce. You can enjoy it even more without drinking tones of water afterward. 2. cook SPAM in low heat and watch carefully. With the sauces and sugar, it burns really fast. 3. If you aren't use to wrap sushi and molding cooked rice, scoop the rice into a piece of plastic wrap and press to form the rice. This will give you a nice a firm rice cake without the mess. 4. Adding a little bit of sesome seeds to the rice if you like. Love this recipe. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMaMa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Foster City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Aloha! I moved from Hawaii and I missed eating the spam musubi in Pearl Highlands(Food Court), so i searched online and here it is the perfect recipe!!!! Yum! Mahalo to the person who posted the recipe. I always thought it was just rice and spam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

SPAM® Musubi

Marinated and cooked slices of SPAM® on top of seasoned rice, wrapped in nori.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States