Spam Musubi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Spam rules!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
On our 7th trip to the Hawaiian Islands, we finally tried Spam Musubi! It is "ono"! I have to say I only used this recipe as a guideline. I made a few changes. I marinaded the spam in teriyaki, and cut nori into 1 1/2 inch strips. I also bought a musubi mold, which I got in Maui, but you can buy them online. Dip mold in water before molding each musubi, it will make removal much easier. Also lay a piece of plastic wrap on flat surface, lay nori on top, center mold and fill with rice then spam and then rice again, press. Remove mold, wrap seaweed around rice and wrap in plastic. I gave my sister two musubi's to take home...one for her and for her husband...she ate both! Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I'm from Hawaii and I love making/eating spam musubi. Recipe looks good, I would suggest buying a musubi maker from any Japanese market, it will make the end product a lot easier to make. To add more flavor to the rice, I add 1 cup of rice vinegar with 1 cup sugar mixed into the hot rice just after it's finished cooking (for 3 cups of uncooked rice). I would try to get 10-14 slices from 1 can of spam for best spam to rice ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I've been making spam musubi like this for years, except that I omit the oyster sauce, add a little ginger, bake the marinated spam at 350 deg F for 8-10 minutes, and sprinkle toasted black and white sesame seeds onto the molded rice. Here's a tip: use the spam can as a mold by CAREFULLY cutting the bottom out of it with an x-acto knife. Also, it helps if you use "pre-toasted" nori sheets. Untoasted nori can be tough. Another tip to keep the rice from sticking to your hands; have a bowl of water handy to wet your hands and the musubi mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
295 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
This is a simple and very tasty recipe. Toasting nori helps, and I cut down on the sugar by half - don't like my rice that sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This tasted just like the ones I get at in Japantown! Handling the rice was a bit tricky for me because it kept sticking to my hands, but it was worth it in the end. I might try using my rice cooker to cook the rice next time because I think the rice may have turned out a too mushy. The marinate for the Spam was delicious, but a lot of it dripped into my wok and burned as I was frying it. Shaping the musubi was time consuming, but it was a great recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This tasted like the Spam Masubi you would buy in a restaurant! I cut the sugar in half and made 20 mini Spam Masubi's and it was great!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
After living in Hawaii for several years, I can say this is the first recipe I've found that truly captures the taste of "Ohana". Great job! I used to buy these every day at the local market on Kalihi St. on the way to work... mmmm. Makes for a great fast breakfast munchy while on the run. :) Try this with the Spicy Spam and it tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Sushi Guy

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
The marinade was delicious. I didn't know it was the oyster sauce that was missing when I tried making this at home before. It's my favorite breakfast food. I used low sodium soy sauce and low sodium Spam and went easy on the sugar. Turn on a fan and let it blow the vinegar off the rice for a lovely shine while you cook the meat. Don't crank up the heat too much under the meat or the marinade will burn. If shaping by hand, wet your hands in water and squish the rice into shape. I am used to rice sandwiching both sides of the meat. I also like the furikake or goma seasoning (black and white sesame seeds toasted with salt) sprinkled all over it for crunch. This is sacrilege, but I have used a thin sheet of egg omelette instead of nori for my seaweed fearing husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I made this for Christmas and everybody loved them them! Delicious! Had a lot of marinating sauce left over...a little bit of a waste. I would decrease the amount a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States