Spam Musubi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
After going to Hawaii for the first time a few years ago, my fiance and I fell in love with spam musubi. I'm so glad that I found this recipe. BUT, I really don't like oyster sauce (I did a test batch of 2 spam slices marinated as directed in this recipe, and didn't like the way it came out) and after doing a bit more research for other musubi recipes online, I decided to substitute the oyster sauce with mirin (Japanese sweet cooking wine that you can find at any Asian grocery store/market). YUMMY YUM YUM!!! It was perfect, just like in Hawaii! My fiance couldn't get enough! (And neither could I!) TIPS: You don't have to use sushi rice, regular rice is just fine. When you cook the marinated spam slices, be sure to do it at a low heat, as the sugar in the marinade really does make the spam burn very easily. When I assembled my musubi, I kept a small bowl of water next to me to continually wet my fingers and the musubi maker (as well as using it to seal the seaweed strips). Speaking of the seaweed, before you cut it into strips, be sure to "toast" it - simply take each sheet and quickly make three-four passes over your stove burner and it will toast fine (don't let it linger over the burner or have the burner set too high or it will burn). I'll definitely keep this recipe as one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Sawyer Adamson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Soooo good! Thanks so much, didn't realize the "secret" ingredient, the oyster sauce. Gives it that savory something that you can't put your finger on! Oh, and of course CRISPY spam is the absolute only way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
WAY too much marinade, you only use 1/5 of it and have to throw the rest away. Rice & water ratio depends on the rice you bought--follow the package instructions rather than blindly following the 1 to 1 ratio here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
growing up in hawaii, i ate spam musubi all the time. i've always made it with a sugar and soy sauce marinade but when i saw this recipe with oyster sauce, i thought i'd give it a try. i made two kinds to see if i could taste the difference and the one with the oyster sauce is the way to go. it really adds that extra something that makes a great spam musubi. i was shocked because i didn't think it would make that much of a difference, but it did. note that using non toasted nori can be really chewy and therefore can be difficult to eat. i use korean seaweed instead, which is usually toasted and seasoned with sesame oil and salt. you can get it at a korean market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
YUM!! I havent had these in over 7 years since my last visit to Hawaii when I ate them every day. I'm so excited I can make them myself now and they are so good!!! I followed the recipe very closely with the exception of one minor addition. I added equal parts of sugar and rice vinegar to my rice. My family is already requesting the next batch. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Good dish. Very "Sushi" tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Ratayczak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is a great recipe. But it doesn't have to be that hard. My family just uses calrose rice (fresh or day old), Spam, and nori. The only thing we do to the spam is fry it in brown sugar and shoyu. But, I'm sure this makes really great spam musubis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I also like to eat them for breakfast just make scrambled eggs and add it with your spam or use portugese sausage instead of spam. It's Da Best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mpule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These are pretty good! My kids and I gobbled them up, but my husband was not impressed. We prefer the spam to be nice and crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. Mmmm, mmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Hall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
What a fun appitizer to bring to a party. Who knew Spam could taste good enough to get people asking for the recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

SPAM® Musubi

Marinated and cooked slices of SPAM® on top of seasoned rice, wrapped in nori.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States