Spam Musubi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Misha
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
So good! I loved the carmelizing on the Spam. I wrapped each musubi in its own piece of foil, and it made snacks for days! Great tips by other cooks--Use Spam can as a mold (wet it between making each one), and cook Spam on Low! Thanks for this recipe! xoxo =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I love this recipe, as did my husband, 6 year old and my bookgroup (save for the people who do not like spam). I've used it as an appetiser and as a main meal (with seaweed salad as a side, mmmm!), and it was great for lunch the next day. The only changes I made were to use the rice preparation recipe on the sushi rice I got rather than the one that comes with the Spam Musubi recipe. Also note, my end result did not look nearly as pretty as the picture due to my troubles with the sticky rice, but I bet it tasted just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
These have become a regular feature in our family, but I personally don't find that the sauce is entirely necessary. Everyone in my family likes them with something different anyway; my kids like to eat them with sweet & sour sauce, but I prefer them with soy & wasabi, & my husband just eats them plain (he'd eat them raw if I'd let him ;) My husband was stationed in HI for a long time, Spam musubi was his favorite snack - he was pretty floored when he came home to find that I had learned to make them for him. He says these are great, but that his favorite in HI were from the gas stations & movie theaters, where the "Spam juices" soak into the rice after they'd sit under a heat lamp for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPACEANGEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This takes me back to my island days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
LOVE IT! It doesn't have quite the same taste as the spam musubis in Hawaii, but it still tastes great. Like the reviews below said, use low-sodium spam or even low-sodium shoyu to cut down on the salt content. I poured all the marinade in with the spam to cook so there'd be some extra sauce in with the musubi. Just be careful not to burn it because of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
So tasty and so easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Loved the recipe, but also took into consideration the recommedations made by others. I used my spam can for the mold but I didn't need to cut it because it slides out if you give it a little tap. Also added rice seasoning and it was delicious!! Everyone I make this for loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Good recipe. I skip the step with the rice vinegar, just plain rice is fine. Frying your spam, then marinating and then frying again gets rid of a lot of the fat as well. Low sodium spam works best. I've also had some people prefer is as a sandwich - rice, seaweed, spam, rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Sooooo Good!!! You can also substitute spam w/ Portugese Sausage or Lup Cheong Sausage. Either way, it's Ono-li-cious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Unlike most reviewers here, I did NOT grow up eating this. (I grew up in Detroit, and never even had spam until this recipe.) When I first opened the can of spam, I have to admit, I was doubtful I could get over the ick-factor of it all. But I kept an open mind, followed all the directions (except I used brown rice instead of white, and I marinated overnight instead of for 5 minutes), and WOW! was I surprised. This is honestly the most tasty thing I can imagine spam turning into. I would definitely make this again. This would be especially good if you have young kids who like to help in the kitchen. They can help with the assembly. They'll have fun hand-molding the rice "loaves" and wrapping the nori ribbons around the little bundles. I sliced the spam into 15 slices, and that was perfect for the amount of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

SPAM® Musubi

Marinated and cooked slices of SPAM® on top of seasoned rice, wrapped in nori.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States