Spam Musubi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I made these & took them to a get together with friends. Immediately our host perked up and was like "Is this Musubi?!?!?!" and started chowing down on them. Afterwards he asked me if I had steamed it, and then let me know that many Hawaiian natives steam them to tighten the seaweed. Will do next time, but he sat there all night telling stories about when he lived in Hawaii. Must have been close & it tasted pretty awesome too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I grew up eating Spam and Spam Musubi. I always make Spam Musubi using a "basic sauce", Spam and nori. I cook rice first then set it aside to cool a bit while I assemble other ingredients. I bring Aloha soy sauce and brown sugar to a medium boil in a saucepan until sugar dissolves. I just eyeball the amount of soy sauce and brown sugar, to taste, never measuring. I omitted the oyster sauce (never used it). I don't fry the spam in vegetable oil. I just cut up the spam in thick slices and add it to the saucepan. I also roast the nori right before putting everything together. Using a musubi maker I place the nori inside, add rice and press it into the mold, add a slice of cooked spam, another layer of rice on top and press the top musubi maker onto everything together tightly. I then remove the mold and use a sharp knife to cut the musubi in half. Sometimes I make this for breakfast or lunch. While I do have "my own" way of making Spam Musubi sauce (without oyster sauce), others may find adding a little more seasoning to theirs, such as this recipe, more suitable. Thou Spam Musubi is easy to make, it is a filling and tasty snack. Some people add nori furikake and other ingredients to the Spam Musubi to jazz it up. You will find Spam Musubi anywhere here in Hawaii, even at the 7-Eleven stores. This can be served as an appetizer, part of an okazuya and a snack on-the-go! Very popular and Onolicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
The teriyaki sauce is just perfect! I will definitely reuse this for other meats. I simply followed the instructions for cooking Japanese rice from the instructions on the bag. I think it is much faster than soaking the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This recipe was great! I was going to go with a teriyaki glaze for flavor but found this recipe for the spam sauce and from the rave reviews with the oyster sauce, I had to try this instead. It was delish! I had my Husband cut the bottom off the spam can to use for the mold, pressed the seasoned sushi rice (another recipe) in it, shook on some furikake then popped it out of the mold, added the cooked spam and nori. Good Hawaiian memories there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I marinated in teriyaki sauce instead, and used the spam tin as a sushi press, then ate them with sriracha sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Great recipie, very similar to the one I learned back when I lived in Mililani. A great addition is to add 3 Tbsp of toasted sesame seeds to the rice before forming it for a nice flavor (thats the way Auntie Kaliha always made it). Also, if you have a rice cooker (you can buy a 6 cup one at Wal*Mart for cheap), you can skip the soak for 4 hours step and have tasty musubi in about 35 minutes total!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoyJHerbIII
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
One of my roommates @ college was from HI & when I was in the dorm's, I was the only one on the floor of twently girls NOT from HI -- they showed me how to roll sushi & we would make this for us all when we went tailgating or just when hangin around! Awesome tasting & if you haven't tried it before - DO ! ! It is a FAB snack, appetizer, meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Larson Payne

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Make sure you really pan-sear the spam. Almost to a burnt crisp. Reduce liquid ingredients by half. Original portions makes too much marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
My fiance loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I was sceptical to try this, but my stepson is a Spamaholic...saw it on the Food Networks "Best thing I ever ate" and thought I'd give it a try! I was pleasantly surprised! I did use "sticky" sushi rice, and cut the bottom of the spam can off to use for a mold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

SPAM® Musubi

Marinated and cooked slices of SPAM® on top of seasoned rice, wrapped in nori.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States