Spam Musubi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
My husband ate Musubi almost every day we were in Hawaii last year so he has been asking me to make them ever since we got home. I finally gave in and thought I'd try this recipe for his birthday. I followed the recipe for the first batch but the rice vinegar was overpowering and you couldn't taste the seared spam. I ended up remaking the rice and completely omitted the vinegar. MUCH better. (I used medium grain sushi rice and followed the directions on the package-didn't soak it first so it only took 20 min to make and worked great). I also doubled the soy sauce and omitted the oyster sauce (fishy smells or tastes make me gag). My husband said it tasted almost exactly like the ones he loved in Hawaii.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
I made this for a luau and was skeptical since I'd never eaten or made anything like it but it was delicious! The spam tasted like teriyaki chicken and the rice was delicious with the vinegar. I borrowed my sisters musabi press and would definitely recommend using one as it sped up the process and they all came out uniform. I sprayed the press with cooking spray to keep the rice from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Made as directed, and wanted to like it..but found it just OK. Kids ate it, but the novelty of Nori wore off once they tasted it. Found the oyster sauce a bit overpowering at times. Again OK, and probably a taste you grow into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I love this recipe! I've made it multiple times and it's better than any Spam Musubi I've bought from a restaurant. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I grew up in Hawai'i and I love this recipe. I like to cook things I grew up eating for my boyfriend, who is from New York, and didn't know the goodness of Hawaiian food. Now he requests spam musubi all the time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Halley Jarrett

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was exactly what I wanted! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I've tried a couple of musubi recipes before this one and they were just ok, I really loved the tase that this mixture gave the musubi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pho54
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Tastes just like what I got in Hawaii! Can i say...although I didn't soak the rice for 4 hours...just washed it thoroughly....came out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Great recipe! I didn't have oyster sauce so I substituted fish sauce. It tasted about the same. Kids love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by weezenami
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This is one of my fav anything musubi recipes! You can also try it with a hot link sausage too! You wouldn't be disappointed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

SPAM® Musubi

Marinated and cooked slices of SPAM® on top of seasoned rice, wrapped in nori.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States