Spaghettini Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Not super impressed with this recipe (sorry!) but it wasn't bad, either. It was just very...bland. And the pictures posted here show it more like a chicken dish with a drizzle, but mine definitely turned into a soup and we ended up having to eat it out of a bowl with spoons. It wasn't anything special, so I won't be making it again, but it was by no means inedible. We all finished it and I'm glad that I at least tried it. If you want a homemade chicken noodle soup, I'd recommend this because that's basically what it was (with a bit more flavor than the store-bought stuff, but not too much, really). And oh, by the way, I left out the tomatoes and spinach and added more Parmesan (which we still couldn't taste)...just wanted to mention that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I doubled the recipe and it was very flavorful and light-tasting. However, there was too much liquid. I would reduce the broth by 25% at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Followed advice of others: cooked pasta in the sauce, added 5 tsp cornstarch, and used 5 oz frozen spinach. Really enjoyed it, but could have used a bit more spice. Next I will try sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I thought it was kind of boring with just the broth instead of a sauce. It wasnt bad though either.. so a little blah for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hmstarr
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I found this recipe to be very bland. I used 2 cups of broth & can't imagine using more...I even tried to thicken it up with cornstarch but it was still very liquidy. I used fresh basil and 3 handfuls of spinach but other than that, I followed the recipe to the tee. Next time, I will season the chicken, add more onion, add green pepper, and less chicken broth. It was very attractive with the wilted spinach. I will make this again with more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was very good, a nice "lighter" pasta style dish...my boyfriend requested we make it a keeper and he is incredibly particular. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This was good, but I thought it needed a little more seasoning. I too cooked the pasta in the same pot. Used one can crushed tomatoes, didn't have diced. Used frozen spinach that I cooked and drained separately. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This was really good. Great for cold weather. Used mini bow-tie pasta and a bag of pre-washed baby spinach instead. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was SO good! I made modifications based on previous reviews and what I had on hand. Here are the modifications I made: Used 2 cups broth, 1 can whole tomatoes drained and cut in half plus a heaping half teaspoon italian seasoning, used 2 leaves fresh basil chopped, only about 1/2 a large onion. I also added the pasta (1/2 box whole wheat linguine) right to the pot a few minutes after i added the tomatoes and broth and simmered on low for probably 20-25 min. the pasta was done perfectly al dente. I used about 3/4 a bag of pre washed baby spinach, and shredded about 3/4 of a chicken i had baked yesterday. I topped with parmesan and grated asiago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
What a great recipe to use up what's already in the cupboard. I used chicken thighs instead, and reduced the sauce a great deal before adding the pasta. Light, healthy, and perfect for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States