Spaghetti with Tomato and Sausage Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Accidentally hit done before finishing my last review. Sauce is excellent but very sweet as written. I would recommend reducing sugar by half and also adding a diced red bell pepper. I also add grilled chicken tenders seasoned with garlic salt, oregano, basil, and parsley and shred them a bit before putting into sauce. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Excellent recipe...this has become my "go to" sauce for pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I've made this in a huge batch for the past 3 years and froze in freezer bags, awesome, wonderful! The longer it simmers the better it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Only two changes. I didn't have burgundy on hand so I used Shiraz wine which is good pared with Pasta sauces. I thought 1/2 cup sugar was way too much, so I cut the sugar down to 1 1/ 2 tbsp sugar and it was mildly sweet. I would not use more that 2 tbsp. My husband hates sweet sauces and I lean toward a little sweetness. Very easy recipe. I picked this one because I had tomato juice I need to use up. I was very happy with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Buckley Dirks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is a weekend fav for my family. I know you're not supposed to but I cut out the sugar so it has more of a smokey flavor. I also use olives instead of mushrooms to make my son happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn0408

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I threw in a good amount of fresh minced garlic when I sauteed the onion and mushrooms. I also cut the sugar back to a quarter cup. I have to say, I was skeptical that it would turn out because of the amount of liquid that the sauce calls for. I shouldn't have worried. This turned out fabulous. It was a little sweet even with cutting the sugar back by half but I can tweak that next time I make this. This may just be my new spaghetti sauce. This would be a great marinara to make ahead and freeze, without the added meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This is sooooo good! I used turkey sausage in mine and didn't use any wine. I would highly reccomend this sauce with any pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smith1048

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Great Sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
YUM! I substitute with turkey sausage and it is SO good! I also use red wine instead of the burgundy, mostly because I didn't have any in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
The only thing I did differently was saute the onions and mushrooms in a frying pan, and a crockpot in place of the dutch oven. The flavor was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States