Spaghetti with Tomato and Sausage Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Excellent recipe...this has become my "go to" sauce for pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I've made this in a huge batch for the past 3 years and froze in freezer bags, awesome, wonderful! The longer it simmers the better it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Only two changes. I didn't have burgundy on hand so I used Shiraz wine which is good pared with Pasta sauces. I thought 1/2 cup sugar was way too much, so I cut the sugar down to 1 1/ 2 tbsp sugar and it was mildly sweet. I would not use more that 2 tbsp. My husband hates sweet sauces and I lean toward a little sweetness. Very easy recipe. I picked this one because I had tomato juice I need to use up. I was very happy with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is a weekend fav for my family. I know you're not supposed to but I cut out the sugar so it has more of a smokey flavor. I also use olives instead of mushrooms to make my son happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn0408

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I threw in a good amount of fresh minced garlic when I sauteed the onion and mushrooms. I also cut the sugar back to a quarter cup. I have to say, I was skeptical that it would turn out because of the amount of liquid that the sauce calls for. I shouldn't have worried. This turned out fabulous. It was a little sweet even with cutting the sugar back by half but I can tweak that next time I make this. This may just be my new spaghetti sauce. This would be a great marinara to make ahead and freeze, without the added meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This is sooooo good! I used turkey sausage in mine and didn't use any wine. I would highly reccomend this sauce with any pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smith1048

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Great Sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
YUM! I substitute with turkey sausage and it is SO good! I also use red wine instead of the burgundy, mostly because I didn't have any in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
The only thing I did differently was saute the onions and mushrooms in a frying pan, and a crockpot in place of the dutch oven. The flavor was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I ate so much of this my stomach hurt. I added the Nirvana Meatballs, which is on this website and also added a few links of italian sausage cut into small bites. I also only used 1/2 cup suger. Phenomenal flavors in this mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States