Spaghetti With Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I was so worried about this sauce because it started out watery, however I let it simmer for 45 min with regular stirrings and it was rockstar by the end! Was also a little worried about the capers but again was so glad I went with my instincts. My boyfriend and I agree it's 10X better then any jarred sauce. I did add onion and extra garlic and just eyeballed the seasonings as I added them, I also realized I didn't have any diced tomatoes so I just went on without them but it was great!! I am so glad I found this recipe because I always feel like when I get done with my spaghetti there is water instead of sauce left on my plate and this sauce definitely solved this problem. I will say you have to let it simmer for at least 45 min but it is great! Will use it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mstanzel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edgewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Quick and easy! Yummy! This is staying is my recipe box! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This was a hit with the family. Did make a few changes: chopped onions sauteed til clear, fresh garlic, no capers and added raw extra lean ground beef to the simmering sauce to make it thicker and meaty;be sure to simmer sauce so the meat will cook through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Excellent sauce! The best I've ever made! I did add the frozen meatballs to the sauce. Very easy and had a great consistency. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARENDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pocahontas, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I thought this was good but would not use it in my regular rotation. I did like that it had a bit of kick to it from the red pepper flakes. I used 2 cans of crushed tomatoes instead of the diced as we don't like chunks of tomato. I whizzed it up in the food processor after it had simmered too to make it less chunky. Didn't use the capers as I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I've tried many marinara sauces. This is definately the best! Especially good with lasange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Excellent! My kids 3 and 5 loved it with the capers but I only add the red peppers to my personal serving. I love the chunks but I make a double batch and puree some for pizza sauce, yum!! I haven't made a sauce so quick where you don't have to first sautee onions and garlic, I love how you just open cans and crush some garlic. I use any combination of tomatoes I have, whole roma, crushed, etc then chop up a bit if using the whole tomato later. Very good in a bowl eaten with a hearty crusty bread and parm cheese sprinkled on it- you don't even need the noodles to enjoy it! Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Very good sauce, and easy to make. It's just a little bit spicy and the capers make it feel like you're at a fancy restaurant. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This was very good. I simmered mine in the crock pot for 4 hours on low. The only thing I didn't add was the capers. My family really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I added two cans of tomato sauce and didn't use any crushed/diced tomatoes, since I have picky eaters who don't like chunks. I also added an extra teaspoon of sugar to the mix, to take away the extra "tang." Not bad, for a first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States