Spaghetti with Garlic and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I didn't use fresh basil, and I didn't think it would make a big difference, but it made this pasta have such an awful flavor. I recomend following the recipe exactly I guess, because this just was not good for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This was a very simple yet wonderful recipe. I made this with fish and it went well together. I did decide to use garlic powder instead of fresh garlic. I will definitely use this again. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
After reading the reviews, we decided to slowly simmer the EVOO w/ 5 garlic cloves, ¼ tsp. red pepper flakes & ½ tsp. onion powder for 15 min. After cooking the spaghetti, we added remaining ingredients w/ the addition of ¼ c chopped fresh Italian parsley. With all the additions, the recipe was bland central. We ended up throwing spaghetti sauce on to salvage the pasta. I cannot recommend this one - sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This is a really quick, easy dish, and it has a great taste to it. I'll definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I love this stuff so much... another recipe I eat on a weekly basis. I prefer to saute my garlic briefly in the EVOO first, add just a a pinch of red pepper flakes, add no salt (but use salted butter) and I do prefer to use Locatelli or Pecorino Romano instead of Parmesan, as the flavor is a tad sharper and just lends itself perfectly to this particular combination. Thanks for the post, Marilyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This had lots of flavor! Nice and garlicy. We wanted our carb fix last night but with butter and garlic and this was it. I accidentally poured in 1/2 c. olive oil but still kept to the 1/4 c. butter. Without sauteing, I added 1/2 an onion that I needed to use up and 1 t. each of dried basil, marjoram and red pepper flakes, 1/2 t. each of salt and pepper. We love cheese so doubled it to 1 c. grating a good quality Parmesan and also mixing it in with the hot noodles. Nice change from tomato or creamy sauces. Will definitely make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This tastes super nummy and it was sooo easy! I sauteed the oil, butter, garlic, and spices while the pasta cooked. I used lemon pepper instead of black pepper and added a few crushed red pepper flakes. I also tossed the Parm cheese in with the hot noodles at the end so it would melt. It was delicious... my picky fiance even liked it, and that's saying something!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hugo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This is OK for a quick lunch....although I think I prefer italian seasoning to the basil & I'm not sure I'm liking the olive oil w/ the butter. I cut it down to 2 servings & added a bit more butter & parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Really a quick and easy recipe and has lots of flavor. Nice recipe to fix when you are short on time but want a family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Urbana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
After a 3 hour panty raid last night, my friends Taylor and Ellen (who claims she is a nurse, but is really a bartender at the local Hooters) called me up at 3:00 in the morning and asked me to "whip" something up for them to munch on while watching The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood or something like that. Of course I ran to allrecipes and found this recipe. I made this with penne and since the market was closed in the middle of the night, I didn't have access to fresh basil, so I used dried. We had this with the left over flat beer from Hooters and after the two imbecile's passed out on my futon, I let the air out of their tires. That'll teach them to wake me up for spaghetti!! Enjoyed this very much, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Spaghetti with Garlic and Pepper

A super-simple spaghetti with garlic, red pepper flakes, and parsley.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States