Spaghetti with Garlic and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This is such a nice simple recipe. We have it with Italian chicken at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This recipe was delicious! I followed the others who sauteed the oil/garlic/basil first. My family scoffed as I was cooking it, but they all loved it, especially my children who don't like traditional spaghetti sauce. This is one that I will save in my files!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This was a fast and easy recipe. I didn't have enough basil, maybe 1/2 cup, and it was plenty. I threw in some dried minced onion and more garlic. Next time I'll saute the garlic, butter and olive oil. It was really good and I'll probably make it again (nice change from spaghetti sauce)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganFaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This recipe was great! I did alter it a bit though. I added more garlic than the recipie called for and I sauted half of and and left the rest fresh. I also added a half a tablespoon of fresh lime juice and it gave it just the kick it was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsNeubauer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This was very good, very fresh tasting. All that basil gave this a crisp taste, as in bright and fresh. I only used half the basil called for and it was plenty. I did warm the olive oil/butter and the garlic before adding it to the pasta. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
instead of just the butter olive oil sauce i sweat some onions and upped the garlic a bit added some chicken broth reduced and mounted with butter making a sauce along with dried basil and red pepper flake tossed the spaghetti added black olives and tomato at the end so as to just heat the tomato barely and instead of parm i used mozz the whole fam enjoyed even my 2 yr old nephew liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metalchef324

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This was such a good, quick, light sauce recipe (used linguine instead). However, I added Portuguese pre-cooked spicy sausage & heated it in the oil/butter for 2-3 mins. I sauteed the minced garlic at the end of browning the sausage, to get lightly golden in the oil/butter before adding the hot pasta to the pan. Followed other reviewers, with adding a little more Parm cheese & red pepper flakes to taste. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Simple, clean and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gareth Evans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leicester, Leicestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Mmmmm! Was great! At first it was a little lack luster but then I add some more cheese, I'd say about a 1/4 a cup more, halved grape tomatoes, sliced grilled chicken, (depending on the length) quartered, just warmed (on the grill) asparagus, and that was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I just finished this and sat down to a plate of it with a little salad and frankly couldn't finish without reviewing it. This is one of the best dishes I have prepared and I will definitely be keeping this recipe on hand. I am a single person and it makes enough for me to keep on hand for a few days. The flavor is fabulous and it was quick, easy, and cheap. I added a bit of red pepper flackes while I was melting the butter and also threw everything else in and let it simmer to really release the flavor and then tossed it all together, it came out quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Spaghetti with Garlic and Pepper

A super-simple spaghetti with garlic, red pepper flakes, and parsley.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States