Spaghetti with Garlic and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Good recipe, simple and quick. It makes me think to another traditional Italian dish, Spaghetti with fresh herbs and Pecorino, because the ingredients are almost the same: parsley, chives, garlic, EVOO, basil, sage, but with the addition of mint, marjoram and Pecorino cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This was really really good and pretty easy and fast too. Lemon pepper all the way!! I did as the first reviewer suggested: I sauteed oil, butter, garlic, and lemon pepper but I sauteed for too long the first time and the garlic and lemon pepper turned into a brown crunchy substance, so I set that aside and sauteed again, this time for only a few min (5 max). If you sautee too long you loose the flavor. Then I mixed the basil and pasta and parmasean, and poured the butter-garlic like a sauce. The first brown crunchy batch I poured on bread and toasted and it made a nice compliment to the pasta. Also used fettuccinni instead of spaghetti. You can use any pasta. All in all great recipe, will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monie83

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
my youngest son liked this a lot because he doesn't like a tomato sauce with his spaghetti. my other guys found it a bit lacking. i liked the taste, but we felt it was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deetergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
A nice light meal. I have amused myself over the number of people who either tossed meat in or used it as a side dish with meat. The 2nd & 3rd times I made this, my entire purpose was trying to do a non-meat day following a couple of red-meat days. It went great with garlic bread (yes, more garlic) and does well as a main dish. It's also pretty easy and I usually have everything on hand. Now, all that said, it was good but not great. I used dried basil - I rarely have fresh around, hate chopping it, and I'm possibly the only one on earth that likes it as well and sometimes better than fresh. (But for those who didn't know, you only use about 1/3 dried. And even at that, I think half that would be enough for this.) I wanted the "sauce" warm but wanted to keep it simple, so I just tossed the olive oil & garlic in with the butter as it was melting, and then kept that warm. I poured that over the pasta, tossed a bit, and then added the basil, pepper, a hair of salt, and the cheese last. As a main dish, I felt this was more like 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I absolutely LOVED this and so did all my family members. Even my Mom, who doesn't usually like too much garlic, really enjoyed it. I wasn't able to get fresh basil as we are in the middle of snow storm, but 1 1/2 tsp. of dried basil seemed to work just fine. Note: Sautéing the garlic and dried basil in the butter and olive oil really seemed to bring out the flavors. I completely melted the butter on very low heat and then I turned it up to medium. Once it started slightly boiling, I mixed in the dried basil, finely chopped garlic, and the 1/4 cup of olive oil. (I wasn't sure if the olive oil would keep butter from melting or boiling so that's why I added it after the butter was hot enough to sauté.) I stirred it occasionally until the garlic was a golden brown and turned it off. (Garlic almost burned so be sure to watch the browning closely. It bubbled up, but if you blow the bubbles down and turn the heat down a little you can see.) After the noodles where cooked, I drained them and poured them into a large bowl. I did not have enough parmesan, so I mixed what I did have with a little bit of shredded mozzarella and cheddar. NOTE: I recommend tossing the pasta in the basil garlic sauce BEFORE adding the cheese. The cheese melted so fast that it became difficult to thoroughly coat all the pasta in the sauce. I added a little shake of salt and a couple shakes of pepper but my family liked theirs just fine without, so it is definitely up to each individual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Loved it! I had to use dry basil and shredded Parmesan from a bag due to my tight budget. I eyeballed all the herbs and spices and added 1/2 lb ground turkey. I had to double the amount of butter when I did this because the added meat dried out the dish. It was great! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Tasty as is, but sauteed the garlic in the olive oil (and added a few more cloves) with around 1/3 cup cup of chopped walnuts- Yum! Definitely needs fresh basil to be best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Yum! fast and easy. I picked basil from my garden and had this meal put together in unde 20 minutes. I'm sure it would also be good with some chicken or shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Not a huge fan of the raw garlic - would be 5-stars if instructed to saute...even for a few minutes. Other than that, this is awesome for a quick*simple*fast pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Fabulous! I love pasta and this was perfect for a quick meal! I used a combination of parmesan and romano cheeses and it was delicious with Italian grilled chicken. To make the meal complete we added some garlic bread and a nice garden salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Spaghetti with Garlic and Pepper

A super-simple spaghetti with garlic, red pepper flakes, and parsley.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States