Spaghetti Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
After reading the reviews of others, I took a few precautions to make sure it didn't turn out too dry. I used 2 cans of diced Italian tomatoes without draining and 3 whole eggs. It turned out great! I don't know if I would have even had trouble anyway. I also poured some store bought red sauce on the plate and served the wedge on top. It made for a pretty presentation. I didn't have any ricotta cheese on hand so I substituted fat free cottage cheese, and it worked great. The best thing about this recipe is the ability to throw in whatever you have on hand. I added some onions and garlic. Next time I plan to try adding artichoke hearts, spinach, and black olives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
My husband and I loved this dish. On the advise of other posters I did a few things to insure the pasta did not turn out too dry. I added more ricotta and used 3 whole eggs instead of only the egg whites. Great dish, I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
We loved it! But I did make several modifications, based on ingredients at hand. Since I didn't have any ricotta cheese, I substituted heavy cream. Next, I had leftover camponata (diced eggplant casserole) to which I added a jar of store-bought spaghetti sauce. I admit I got a little "too" creative when I tried to add a layer of camponata between the spaghetti layers -- although it tasted wonderful, it didn't "hold together" as well as if I'd simply used the basil/tomato/provolone mixture. Very good recipe, though, and my family gives it 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHESSDILORENZO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This is a good recipe. My two year old loves it so does my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
Like everyone said the presentation is wonderfull. I added extra spices and next time I'll try angel hair pasta. I think thinner pasta will stick together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
I really liked this recipe; I added mushrooms, pine nuts, garlic salt, and would have added onions, olives and capers if I had them on hand. When I reheated it the next day, I added Paul Newman’s sauce to it -- that was gooooooood!!!!! For me, it will probably become an "everything-in-but-the-kitchen-sink" recipe, which I love making! However, I was unable to fit one pound of spaghetti into a 9 (or even 10) inch springform pan (even if I had smashed it down really hard, it still would have been above the pan’s edge; I ended up using an aluminum casserole-sized, 9-1/4w x 4d pan). Also, it didn’t bind together as well as I expected it to, based on the description; next time I’ll leave the yokes in and maybe even add another egg. I’m open to suggestions as to what I did wrong. Regardless, I’ll make it again, and next time I’ll try angel hair pasta or tri-colored rotini, as well as the kitchen sink!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrys in ChiTown
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
I followed this recipe exactly and found it very bland and dry. I wont be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
I just made this for dinner....it was ok. For the work that goes into making it, the final product was a bit disappointing. I added a bit of garlic powder and salt to the cheese mixture and served with a side of sauce. I probably wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
Although this sounded good, it was terrible! It was dry and tastless. Unless I did something really wrong, this was NOT a good recipe. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
Phenomenal recipe! I served this with a side of marinara sauce and we couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States