Spaghetti Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I just love a recipe with a great presentation. so I gave this recipe an additional twist. I basically followed the recipe although I used a pint of the ricotta cheese and 3 whole eggs, but hear is the prsentation twist,. I had a large eggplant in the house. I sliced it thin the long way, egged (w/a bit of milk) and breaded it, then fried it. I then put a layer of the fried eggplant on the bottom of the springform pan and around the sides. I added half of the prepared spaghetti, then sauce, eggplant and cheese. Then put another layer of eggplant and sauce and the rest of the spaghetti. Then another layer of eggplant,pressed it all down real well. Finished off with sauce and pizza cheese. Thankfully I had enough of the ingredients left over to make 2 mini bread pans of it. I'm so glad that I had enough left because my hubby was ready to make an attack and it's to be brought to a potluck tomorrow. Anyhow he just LOVED IT!!!!! Going to bring an extra jar of spg. sauce with us just in case its a little dry as some others have said. Will get back tomorrow and give you the final results, Well...the results are in....DELISH, everyone enjoyed it and will definatly prepare it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Wow this was good. Kids ate this up and asked for more. Used whole wheat pasta for added health benefits, spaghetti sauce and parm for toppings. Think I'll add some things next time, like maybe a some sausage in the middle. Excellent meal well received. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
We absolutely loved it. Really great recipe. However, I did not follow the original exactly just out of fear that it would be too dry. I added one can of diced tomatoes with basil and oregano mixed in and doubled the ricotta cheese. Really good flavor, excellent presentation. Next time I will shred provolone cheese rather than melt slices and add meat! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This made me feel like a regular Martha Stewart! I listened to others' advice and tweaked the following: 2 whole eggs, double the ricotta, added sliced yellow squash and zucchini. Looked really pretty and impressive!! Next time I will DEFINITELY add fresh garlic which was sorely missed, and a salt/pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
What a great little recipe! The fresh basil makes the entire house smell so good when baking this! I could not give 5 stars, as I tweaked a couple things...and would do some different things next time. But, yes, there will be a next time! First, I used a can of diced tomatoes (drained). I used fettucine noodles,and those worked really well. Other than that, I followed the recipe to the letter - and what I would change would be: MORE CHEESE! It needs more melted cheese! More provolone!!!! More Spice!! I'd add garlic, salt, more fresh basil! Maybe add artichoke hearts and olives - we'll see. Other than that - it is a great little recipe that is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rusty's girl
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This was really good and different! I think I would add some chunks of roasted garlic to it next time. Looked really nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rusty's girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I liked this dinner, however, I would be sure to use Imported not Domestic cheeses. I felt it was a little bland and think the problem was the domestic cheese. Next time I won't skimp on the cheese brands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
A question...does this hold together well enough to be cut in small wedges and used for appetizers?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Tasted great! I pretty much followed exactly except I used a can of petit diced tomatoes instead of regular tomatoes so they were more tender. Added some garlic as well! My husband was pretty impressed with the presentation! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsollenberger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CECILIAMORISON
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Good concept! I used a 10 1/2" spring form pan, 1 lb of ground buffalo, 1 lb of thin spaghetti, 2 jars of spaghetti sauce, 4 eggs (medium), and 2 cups of shredded mozzarella. Brown up the meat (I add 1/4 tsp ground oregano, 1/2 tsp sweet basil, 1/4 tsp season salt, 1/4 tsp black pepper, 1/2 tsp minced onion and 1/2 tsp minced garlic), add 1 jar of sauce, set aside. Cook the spaghetti, rinse with cold water, add beaten eggs to cooled spaghetti (otherwise you'll get egg chunks in your cake), mix in other jar of sauce. Layer half of spaghetti mix, pressing slightly. Next layer the meat mix. Then layer the rest of the spaghetti and top with mozzarella. I cooked mine for the time allowed in the recipe with a cookie sheet underneath to keep any seeping off my oven. Sprinkle with a little Parmesan cheese. My 3 and 4 year olds ate 2nds of this "cake"!!! Happy April Fools! I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CECILIAMORISON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States