Spaghetti Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I'm on a special diet (SCD) so I made this with spaghetti squash, I pulsed farmer's cheese and yogurt until it was the consistency of ricotta, and I cooked the tomatoes with onions and garlic. I also added fresh parsley and oregano to the basil layer because I needed to use it before it went bad. Even though I was unable to follow the instructions perfectly, this dish was easily customizable to my diet and it tasted outstanding. I've tried to modify other recipes but they weren't nearly this good. It really satisfied my craving for a spaghetti dish. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoviceCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grangeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Walker, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This was good. Something different. I only used about 1/3 lb of spaghetti & increased the ricotta to 1c. I also used 1 16oz chopped tomatoes instead of the 2 chopped tomatoes. I used mozarella cheese instead of provolone and 1 egg. I also baked it in a 2 qt dish sprayed with cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
It was so-so. I didn't know if the egg whites were to be beaten or not....so I beat them and folded the other ingredients into that. I would use whole eggs, more parmesan and ricotta, instead of provolone if I made this again....and a regular sauce instead of chopped tomatoes. Just didn't have that pizzaz using the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Sorry but there wasn't anyone in my family that cared for this. I did add more cheese as others suggested and served sauce and meatballs on the side. The kids and hubby told me to stick with regular pasta. Almost 3/4 of the torte went into the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe that I will use over and over again and try with many variations. I doubled the cheese mixture and added a layer of garlic sauted mushrooms in the middle. It was delicious and everyone who had it really enjoyed it. I think you can add any kind of pizza filling or veggie...sausage, pepperoni, grilled chicken, peppers, onion, sun dried tomatoes, and on an on. I also served it with some marinara on the side. So good! And a FABULOUS presentation. OH! And it can easily be made ahead. I did it the night before and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliskill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I made this last night, and I used canned garlic roasted diced tomatos and hamburger with it....was great!!! I think i will do the side of sauce next time though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I made this with spaghetti squash. Cut squash in half, scrape out seeds, invert on plate with 1/3c water and microwave 8 minutes or until the squash can be easily scraped out with a fork. Squash was plenty moist. Reheats great. I added artichoke hearts to the recipe but they added neither texture nor taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Very good but needs more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Recipe prepared per instructions was bland! Why was it given a 4+ - because everyone edited the recipe. How misleading to prepare something with such a high rating only to have it taste less appealing. I don't always have time to read the comments - but from now on I guess I'd better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was excellent! Nice presentation too. I also used three whole eggs and instead of fresh basil I mixed in some basil pesto with the ricotta and parm. I also made a meat sauce that was mixed into the pesto/pasta mixture. I layered some provolone cheese half way up and topped with motz and sliced tomatoes. I will make this again! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States