Spaghetti Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
We love this and make it all the time. We do not always use the springform pan- sometimes we just use a 2.5 quart casserole dish and scoop it out. Not as impressive looking but tasty. I have not had a problem with dryness. I think the key is to serve it on a bed of spaghetti sauce or pour some over the top when serving. We put it out in a bowl with a gravy spoon. All my kids love this (which is unusual) and now that we have made it a lot, it is really easy to do, even without the recipe at hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Bf seemed to love this--he had 3 helpings. I liked it okay, but I'm not really loving it too much. I read the reviews and bc of the comments about it being too dry, I modified the recipe. I used 1/2 pound of spaghetti, doubled the ricotta, and added some spaghetti sauce. I also added more seasonings--salt, pepper, and oregano. It turned out well enough, but I'll try something else next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
My family and I really enjoyed this recipe. I forgot to by provolone so used a mixture of part skim mozerella and asiago cheese. I also added 3 cloves of garlic since the recipe didn't call for any. It turned out wonderful!! Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I only give this recipe 2 stars because my 2 year old daughter loved it, as I expected she would. For adults, it was ok, so so, very bland (and I made lots of adjustments). I would only make this again for my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy&Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Beautiful presentation but I wasn't crazy about the lack of flavor. Both of us thought it was missing something. I added garlic (of course) but even after that it didn't have much zing. I really loved the looks of this dish though so I'm going to continue to tweak it and see if I can get the flavor up to it's potential! Thanks for the starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Wonderful, simple flavor! Needs garlic, but doesn't everything?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I made this recipe because I already had most of the ingredients in my pantry. I didn't have any fresh tomatoes, but I did have a can of fire roasted tomatoes. Gave the torte a nice little kick. Will definetely make again, but first I'm gonna go buy a springform pan. Mine tasted good, but didn't look as pretty coming out of a round cake pan with a spatula. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
this was just ok, but would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis in Colorado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This was too much work for not a very good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I followed the recipe to a T and I found it bland. It was easy to prepare and pretty to look at but wasnt anything special. I agree it was a bit dry for our taste as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States