Spaghetti Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
We tried this as is and found that it was indeed a little dry so we spooned sauce over the top. The rating is before the sauce. After the sauce it would probably be 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Very interesting recipe indeed! I used cottage cheese instead and forgot that I had to toss the mixture with the spaghetti. So, I layered it on top of the spaghetti layers instead. I also used 2 eggs instead of 4 egg whites. I served it with pasta sauce. Unique recipe. It did end up a little on the dry side, especially the noodles by the rim. But the overall taste was not bad at all! I would recommend serving with a sauce for sure and perhaps use a full cup of ricotta/cottage cheese instead. Add'l notes: used 3 eggs instead and instead of tomatoes, used some salsa and it is more moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
As written the recipe is a 3. I made the following changes and it was very good. Added 2-3 links turkey Italian sausage, casings removed, browned. Added diced onion, red bell pepper diced, fresh mushrooms sliced (about 5 or 6), 2 cloves garlic, minced, Used a 13.5 oz. box whole wheat spaghetti, cooked and rinsed in cold water, ¾ cup ricotta cheese (can add some cottage cheese too) 2 eggs instead of 4 egg whites. 2 to 3 tomatoes, seeded and chopped, shredded mozzarella cheese instead of provolone. Added two cups or so spaghetti sauce to the sausage and vegetable mixture and simmered about 10 min. Layered the spaghetti mixture in the springform pan, then added the basil and tomatoes then topped it with the sauce mixture and mozzarella. Used a 10" springform pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was pretty good. Nothing to write home about but a fun, new way to do spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Franklin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This is great, but why is it called a torte? There is no flour at all and no nut meal. This is just spaghetti casserole in a springform pan. Next time I will use whole eggs, flour, and meat sauce. and twice the cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I'm sorry but this was very, very bland. I even added garlic, garlic salt, 3 whole eggs instead of just the whites, a little more fresh basil, and served spaghetti sauce over it. Still bland. Other than that I followed the rest of the recipe through. Definitely needs salt, pepper, more garlic, onion and whatever else I can find in my spice pantry. I do like a decent amount of spice in my dishes, but never go overboard like some people do, just enough to taste it. I usually give new recipes that didn't wow me the first time around a 2nd chance modified to my liking, but sorry, this one is getting pitched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This is a good start to the recipe but i felt like it needed a bit more in in, next time i'm going to add more tomatoes, some chicken and more cheese. Overall, it was very impressive looking without too much effort, definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBott
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
What a great twist to regular spaghetti. I used cottage cheese instead of ricotta and I place meatballs cut in half between the layers. Finally, I topped with cheddar as this was all I had. The whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
A good starting point, but needs heavy customisation to add any real taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This was nothing special when made as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzitish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States