Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
For a paleo diet dinner it was ok. But I agree that it's way too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie J. Woeber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
The dish needed more flavor...garlic would have been a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
More flavor was needed in this dish. The spaghetti squash is watery and bland and I will not buy again. The sauce made lots and I had to tweak it so I added some leftover spaghetti sauce, garlic, oregano, italian seasoning and a little salt. The sauce then worked great served over spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Relatively bland, but simple meal. I needed to use 2 spaghetti squash, not 1. Good leftovers. I've made better spag. squash paleo recipes, so I'd honestly skip this if you were considering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tegan Gordon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I used 1 pound of Bison and 1 pound of Veal and made meatballs. I added 4 garlic cloves, salt and use whole peeled tomatoes and crushed them with my cavewoman's hand!! . I only put 2 teaspoons of red pepper flakes not 1 tablespoon, I may use less next time. Very tasty!! I'm learning how to cook for my Paleo diet and this will defiantly go into by recipe box!!!! Here's to our Health!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I appreciate the ingredients, but something is missing... and it's not just salt. As a side note, the amount of salt I added to this dish is appalling. It needs something that would add depth and tie it all together, and I'm not sure what that ingredient is. As it stands now, the recipe is very bland and one note. However, the spaghetti squash is fab. This recipe inspires me to use spaghetti squash as a pasta sub in other dishes. We loved the texture and didn't even miss the pasta! Just need to figure out how to spice this dish up because it definitely has potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I made this and we loved it, the only thing I left out was the mushrooms, as my husband does not like them, but did everything else as directed, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doxielvr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Didn't have all the ingredients, but made it without the mushrooms. Also used dried seasonings and it still tasted great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I added everything in the recipe minus the red pepper flakes. I cooked the onions by themselves in a tiny bit of olive oil to bring out the flavor, the added to them to the cooked hamburger meat and seasoned with sea salt, pepper and dried basil, thyme and oregano. I then cooked the rest of the ingredients as suggested, except I added a larger fresh tomato, diced finely, peeled plum tomatoes, I crushed by hand, and 5 garlic cloves, finely diced. I added the herbs 1 at a time , a couple minutes apart and then seasoned this with sea salt and pepper to taste. Once the sauce, which tasted fantastic by the way by itself, was added to the meat mixture it lost some of the flavor, so I added some dried Italian seasoning (basil, thyme and oregano) and that did the trick. My 17 year old son, who hates mushrooms and spaghetti squash loved this. Definitely will cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Paleo Spaghetti Pie

Turn squash into spaghetti for a delicious dish even non-Paleo friends will love!

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States