Spaghetti Squash Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Really tasty! I got a spaghetti squash to use as spaghetti and didn't like it, so I was really surprised to find a recipe like this. I am a vegan, so it is cool to find new "meat" replacements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This was DELICIOUS! I made a couple modifications. Once I added the squash to the onions and added the taco seasoning (I used Old El Paso spicy) I let it cook down quite a bit because all the water came out of the squash and it would have been mushy. I didn't put in jalapeño since the spices were already hot but I added fresh garlic with my onions. I don't shy away from heat but without the fat of ground beef the taco seasoning was actually hot enough. I also just did a soft tortilla and stuffed it with cheese, lettuce, tomato, avocado and sour cream and I topped it off with about a quarter cup of warm chickpeas to make it a little more filling. So good! This recipe alone I would say made three burrito style tacos once the squash rendered down... even with all the additional fillings. So if you have a couple more people to feed I'd say make two squashes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vettle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Yum!!!! I really liked these. Only thing I did different is made my own seasoning. I don't do packages. Going to try the leftovers in enchiladas tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I will likely try it again with a few adjustments. I like the ideas of adding beans and corn. My issue was opposite some others - the taco seasoning packet was too overwhelming for the size of squash I had, so I actually added water to the recipe (since you would usually add water to the packet when making it with beef). My children were not interested in trying, but I love the idea someone posted about turning it into a bean dip. I may do that with the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
The taco seasoning is definitely going to determine the outcome of your recipe. I used Old El Paso taco seasoning and made the recipe as is with hard tacos, sour cream, and cheddar cheese. It was outstanding! My only complaint is that it is entirely too hot for my taste, but my husband told me it was the perfect amount of heat. I would only use 1/2 (maybe even 1/3) of the jalapeno next time. Otherwise, this dish is great, and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
First time cooking with spaghetti squash & thought this might make for an interesting meal. Psuedo tacos may not have been the best way to first experience this vegetable; which I will defintely cook again as a side dish. As tacos it was only OK. I should have used my own seasoning instead of the packaged taco seasoning (which taste like Taco Bell...blah!). It was easy enough; the hardest part was cutting the squash (thank goodness for the internet). We did eat it all but this will never be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Ehh something weird about it husband and daughter liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Loved these tacos! I used hard taco shells to give it some crunch (I think it would be too much of the same texture otherwise) but no complaints on the flavor here. As a vegetarian I am always looking for non-soy meat substitutes and this hit the spot. Thank you so much for the great recipe, it will definitely be in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
A great way to use spagetti squash. I added avocado and sour cream and I really like them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
The tacos were delicious! I prepared Taco Seasoning 1 from this site, I left out the jalapeno, but added a can of black beans. Only used half the squash otherwise would have been too much. Topped the taco with salsa, shredded cheese and lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States