Spaghetti Squash Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Ho hum. Boring! Won't bother trying this one again. I come from the "land of bland," so even a little flavor is good; this took me back there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Great option to Italian dishes with this squash. I've found that with any spaghetti squash recipe, including this one, it's best remove as much of the water as you can from the squash after cooking and removing it from the shell. I line a colander with paper towels, dump the squash onto it, cover with more paper towels and press out the water by hand. Cheesecloth would work even better, but costs more and I rarely have any one hand. I use this recipe for the taco "meat", and still top it with cheese, lettuce, chopped tomatoes, salsa and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Really tasty! I got a spaghetti squash to use as spaghetti and didn't like it, so I was really surprised to find a recipe like this. I am a vegan, so it is cool to find new "meat" replacements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This was DELICIOUS! I made a couple modifications. Once I added the squash to the onions and added the taco seasoning (I used Old El Paso spicy) I let it cook down quite a bit because all the water came out of the squash and it would have been mushy. I didn't put in jalapeño since the spices were already hot but I added fresh garlic with my onions. I don't shy away from heat but without the fat of ground beef the taco seasoning was actually hot enough. I also just did a soft tortilla and stuffed it with cheese, lettuce, tomato, avocado and sour cream and I topped it off with about a quarter cup of warm chickpeas to make it a little more filling. So good! This recipe alone I would say made three burrito style tacos once the squash rendered down... even with all the additional fillings. So if you have a couple more people to feed I'd say make two squashes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vettle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Yum!!!! I really liked these. Only thing I did different is made my own seasoning. I don't do packages. Going to try the leftovers in enchiladas tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I will likely try it again with a few adjustments. I like the ideas of adding beans and corn. My issue was opposite some others - the taco seasoning packet was too overwhelming for the size of squash I had, so I actually added water to the recipe (since you would usually add water to the packet when making it with beef). My children were not interested in trying, but I love the idea someone posted about turning it into a bean dip. I may do that with the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
The taco seasoning is definitely going to determine the outcome of your recipe. I used Old El Paso taco seasoning and made the recipe as is with hard tacos, sour cream, and cheddar cheese. It was outstanding! My only complaint is that it is entirely too hot for my taste, but my husband told me it was the perfect amount of heat. I would only use 1/2 (maybe even 1/3) of the jalapeno next time. Otherwise, this dish is great, and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
First time cooking with spaghetti squash & thought this might make for an interesting meal. Psuedo tacos may not have been the best way to first experience this vegetable; which I will defintely cook again as a side dish. As tacos it was only OK. I should have used my own seasoning instead of the packaged taco seasoning (which taste like Taco Bell...blah!). It was easy enough; the hardest part was cutting the squash (thank goodness for the internet). We did eat it all but this will never be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Ehh something weird about it husband and daughter liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Loved these tacos! I used hard taco shells to give it some crunch (I think it would be too much of the same texture otherwise) but no complaints on the flavor here. As a vegetarian I am always looking for non-soy meat substitutes and this hit the spot. Thank you so much for the great recipe, it will definitely be in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Slow Cooker Spaghetti Squash

A quick and easy way to prepare spaghetti squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States