Spaghetti Squash Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Katie C.
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
really yummy and quick for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Good basic recipe. Fairly easy to make. A little bit of prep time required. Flavor....ehhhh. But it is still a nice way to use spaghetti squash, in case you need one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigchuckles44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Quick, easy and healthy! I took some liberties with the recipe based on what I had at hand. I used sliced grape tomatoes, a couple of handfuls of raw spinach, sliced mushrooms, and some marinated artichoke hearts. Also used grated Parmesan instead of the feta. Loved the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Well, I'll be honest, it's definitely not like pasta -- but I didn't expect it to be. I tried this recipe for the health benefits of having a low-carb dinner. And with that being my expectation it was pretty good. I found that the feta was really the only thing that had flavor and I enjoyed it -- though I'm not sure how I'd change it to give it a more robust flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This is delicious! I have always just made spaghetti squash with marinara (boring!) so this was a nice change for me. I didn't have bell peppers or feta (which I imagine would be yummy and I'll use it next time) so I used marinated artichoke (as suggested by another user) and fresh Parmesan. My daughter and I LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I've made this twice. The first time, I cooked the spaghetti squash in the oven (see Spaghetti Squash I on this site) because I already had the oven on for something else. This time I followed these directions using an average size squash and it was WAY overcooked after only 10 minutes in the microwave. It was no longer stringy like spaghetti and was very mushy. I didn't have any green pepper, so I substituted baby bella mushrooms and that worked so well that I'll use them every time. I also added a bit more seasoning and used only half an onion because we feel like too much onion overpowers the other ingredients. The flavor of this dish was really good even though the dish lacked eye appeal and lost some texture due to the overcooked spaghetti squash. Next time, I think I'll cook it for only 8 minutes or in the oven if I have time. BTW, you can use canned tomatoes (no added sugar! yuk!) and it's as good as fresh winter tomatoes from the grocery and very economical. (Don't compare with fresh summer tomatoes from the garden or farmer's market, of course.) Overall, good dish. Just adjust the cooking time in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Great for the time challenged. Tasty and healthy makes it a win for everyone. I think halving the squash and seeding it before cooking would be easier though. Maybe, I'd have to try it that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I did not like the taste so I added jalapeno peppers and cayenne powder along with low sodium so sauce and it turned into stir fry. I also nixed the tomatoes and added red bell pepper and asparagus. My kids loved it and had no idea they were eating squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
As written the recipe needs a little work but with some minor changes it is easily improved to 4-star status. First, don't assume 12 minutes in the microwave is accurate for your spaghetti squash! The recipe doesn't specify the size but given the 6-serving yield and fairly large amounts of the other ingredients, I'm assuming the submitter meant "1 LARGE spaghetti squash." If you use anything smaller, microwaving this for 12 minutes will be far too long and you will not obtain the desirable long strands. For ease in preparation and out of curiosity, this was the first time I cooked spaghetti squash in the microwave and I learned just how quickly it can overcook! I used sweet red bell pepper, rather than green, and with "primavera" in its title I didn't find feta cheese the best choice - I used fresh Parmigiano-Reggiano. Also in keeping with "primavera," and since I had them available, I used fresh herbs for the dried seasoning. Finally, it is not necessary to cook the onions separately, before adding the zucchini and peppers. I cooked all three together, but did not OVERcook, then added the garlic, the tomatoes and finally the fresh herbs. Again, if you use a modest-sized spaghetti squash, DO adjust not only the cooking time, but the amounts of the other ingredients, accordingly. (I didn't use nearly close to 1-1/2 cups of chopped tomato, for example)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is a super tasty, healthy, and quick dinner. It would have gone even faster if my squash had not been stubborn (probably took close to 20 mins total to microwave). For the tomatoes, I had one to dice and then I added about 1/2 cup of leftover pasta sauce to clean out the fridge. I also added a few mushrooms. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States