Spaghetti Squash Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I never cook spaghetti squash all that time in the oven. It tastes exactly the same if you cut it in half & put upside down on a plate in the microwave. Pierce it a couple times with a knife. Cooking Time would be determined by size of squash. Recipe is great idea but season it up for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I used leftover "spaghetti squash primavera my way" which added a bit more seasoning ( I will be putting the combination in a new recipe). But I love this idea and basics, thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is fine like it is, but if you want more flavor (and who doesn't, right?) I suggest you add in LOTS of seasonings. It can be pretty much anything you like, just make sure there is some onion, garlic, and white pepper. This is a good recipe, but if you want it to be GREAT...add in some seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This looked like a good use of our extra summer squash so I tried it. I followed the advice of other reviewers and added a few things. I doubled the flour, added an egg, a spoonful of minced garlic, and 1/2 a chopped onion. The end result was not bad, but I probably won't make it again. Turned out bland and a little greasy for my taste. My husband liked it better and even reheated and ate the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Was a 4 until I topped each one with a teaspoon of saugage-flavored soy crumbles & a teaspoon of shredded non-fat mozzerella. This adds 40 calories to each patty, but they get a 5 in my house now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Just ok - would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I thought this was really good. We bought spaghetti squash for the first time and we had no idea what to do with it. I came across this recipe and it made the spaghetti squash taste amazing. We added montreal steak spice to ours to give it some extra flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
My daughter and I loved these. I agree with others these are not a hashbrown but more of a potato pancake. I used squash that I had already cooked. I made sure to drain any excess water. Mixed and measured patties with my 1/4 cup as written. My patties were thinner than an inch thick.They fried up quickly and were best while still hot. We ate them plain seasoned with only salt and pepper simply because I did not realize I was out of sour cream. These are a great base recipe... they are good plain but would be great with other flavor additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Tasty combination of flavors and all, just not a life-changing experience. We've made similar "potato pancakes" using zucchini, and these were definitely better than the zucchini. Also, I'd beg to differ on the "1-inch thick" instruction. We got a nice, mildly crisp and tasty hash brown by keeping them smaller (3 in. diameter or so) and thinner (maybe 1/2 in. thick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I followed the advice of the Sept 18, 2012 reviewer "hazelnut" of adding more flour and cheese, a beaten egg, chopped red bell pepper, chopped onion and minced garlic. I made a double batch which made 25 hash browns/pancakes. My husband was my taste-tester. He had to eat two before he could give his official approval ;) We tried it with sour cream and salsa. We liked it best with just the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States