Spaghetti Squash Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I've made this recipe twice now and used Cream of Mushroom and Cream of Chicken. I used half a can of milk instead of the milk and water. To save time, I just scooped the sauce over the squash like it was spaghetti and I skipped baking. Very fast, easy, cheap and healthy. Would be good with mushrooms and/or broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
My children absolutely loved this (ages 20 mo, 4 and 8 yr). My husband and I both felt that it needed some garlic; so I sauteed some garlic in a pan and added it to our portion of the squash. I think it would have been better if the garlic had been added in and baked with the dish. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
My vegetarian girlfriend really enjoyed this, but I wasn't a fan. The sauce was very watery. I would cut down on the water and add a little more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I loved this! I made it with cream of mushroom soup and just half a can of milk - on the side I sautee'd some garlic, onions and mushrooms then put spinach in at the end - and added this to the soup mixture. Put it over the spaghetti squash and baked it for ten minutes with green onions and panko crumbs on top - didn't have cheese so I didn't put that it and it is still amazing. I'll try it with the cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UniCook
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Our family really enjoyed this - what a pleasant way to enjoy this veggie! We made a few necessary changes, due to what we had on hand, but like others, we did find it a bit bland. (Our only changes were cream of chicken rather than celery and cheese type, as we had no Swiss.) Next time, we'll likely use cream of mushroom soup, add garlic, season it more - fresh ground pepper and salt - and add mushrooms. Perhaps onion also. We followed the suggestion of using 1 cup milk, no water, and the creaminess was great when mixed with the squash. I roasted the squash in the oven by halving and seeding it first, then baking it for 40 minutes at 350 (halves upside down when roasting) - but the overall recipe was a nice change from others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I should not be rating this because I did not make the Alfredo sauce according to the recipe, as I usually do not cook with canned soups and did not have any on hand. I also used a different method of cooking the spaghetti squash... I cut the squash in half and then cleaned out the seeds. I immersed the cut halves in boiling water and boiled for 20 minutes until a knife could be easily inserted in the skin. Then I removed the halves from the water and allowed them to cool enough that I could use a fork and remove the "spaghetti." In no way would I mistake this for real pasta, but it made a tasty side dish with the Alfredo Sauce I prepared using the Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I followed some of the suggestions and modified the recipe to add one clove of garlic (minced), 1 cup of milk (instead of 3/4 c water and 1/4 cup milk) and sauted mushrooms. My very meat-centric husband thought it was excellent (as did I). Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I guess my Spaghetti squash was bigger than I thought cause 50 minutes left it still crunchy. Even though I messed up we still really liked it! I did make a few changes. Didnt have Swiss so used Mozzarella and Colby cheese. We like lots of cheese and I didnt measure but the sauce thickness was perfect. I added salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder and some dehydrated celery flakes. I also just scrapped the squash noodles into my sauce to keep from messing up another dish. It was wonderful and I plan to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lyles, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I, too, used all milk instead of water and added a little seasoned salt. Some reviewers complained of the dish being watery so I strained my squash before combining it with the other ingredients. Can't complain about the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laurasiivola
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
We used muenster cheese instead of Swiss and added some garlic powder too. I loved it and so did my kids! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States