Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
My son is allergic to dairy and it's very hard to find jarred/canned sauces he can eat and most sauces take too long to cook. This sauce was perfect - and everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Easy to make if you don't have any sauce on hand. I didn't have 28 oz can of peeled diced tomatoes on hand, so I made this with a 14 oz can of tomato sauce and a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes and it gave me a very nice marinara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I just made this & it tastes great.I made a smaller amount & had to omit the onions because they cause me to have headaches.It still tastes good & thickened enough just by simmering.Thanks to Courtney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
So simple and tastes great! You can really do a lot with this. I added a can of tomato paste and thickened it a little quicker (probably totally illegal!) and added a bit more sugar and some salt and pepper. Very good and fast - loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I have to admit I tweaked this one a little bit, just for experimentation. I used a 28 ounce can of crushed tomatoes, 3 teaspoons of both dried basil and dried oregano and 2 teaspoons of Italian seasoning (oregano, marjoram, thyme, rosemary, basil and sage). I also added a pound of cooked Italian sausage after the first 20 minutes and let it simmer for about 20 more. This sauce was super easy and really, really good. I had begun the day thinking I would make a really complicated recipe for bolognese but ended up with thawed sausage and a late start to the dinner preparations. I am so glad I stumbled upon this recipe at the last minute. Definitely a keeper!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACMOORE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I wanted spaghetti - was out of the jarred stuff so I made this. I didn't have diced tomatoes so I got a few cans of stewed and pureed them. I did what the other user did and added italian seasoning. I did 2 tsp basil, 2 tsp oregano and 1 tsp of italian seasoning. I also added some meatballs. I left the rest of the recipe the same and it came out excellent. Thanks for helping me figure out how to make sauce last minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESIGNSBYBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I loved this spaghetti sauce! I added only yellow and white onions, like 1/2 teaspoon more sugar, regular diced tomatoes and tomato paste! It was great and my entire family adored it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Ignacio, Cayo District, Belize

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was excellent! I made it for some friends, it didn't last long. The only adaptations were that i added a green bell pepper, and used 3 cans of diced tomatoes, i pureed the sauce after it had cooled down to room temperature the night before. I then reheated it the following night for friends. Great served with parmesan cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
If my husband had anything to say about this rating system, I would give this recipe 10 stars. I was really truly impressed at how great this tasted. I made a bigger batch of this by adding 14 ounces of crushed tomatoes and adjusting the listed spices accordingly. I also used Splenda in place of the regular sugar. It was soooooo good that the next day, my husband insisted that I cook more pasta so that he can use the leftover sauce (which was plenty and is freezable). Courtney, thank you soooo much for such an awesome-tasting and quick/easy recipe. This is one of those recipes that will be used every week and I'll make sure to teach my kids how to make this once they're a little older. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Perfect! Green onions are essential, they give the sauce it's own special flavor. Since I love the flavor of olive oil, I add a bit more than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States