Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
So simple and tastes great! You can really do a lot with this. I added a can of tomato paste and thickened it a little quicker (probably totally illegal!) and added a bit more sugar and some salt and pepper. Very good and fast - loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
291 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This recipe was yummy! I've never made homemade spaghetti sauce before, but I was in a pinch for something quick and easy to fix for supper. I stumbled upon this recipe and found I had most of the ingredients it called for and it only took 30 minutes to prepare! The only variations I made were using minced garlic & a little garlic powder, a whole yellow onion (since I did not have any green onions), and I added an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce & salt to taste. I was impressed! I'll definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherm77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
SUBSTITUTIONS: Stevia for sugar ADDITIONS: 1 lb. hamburger. I thought the sauce needed to be a bit "thicker" so I added a can of tomato paste. Turned out nicely and will definitely make again (with above mentioned modifications).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
this was a great base recipe that you can do all kinds of things with. i used my home grown tomatoes, basil, and oregano in it instead of canned tomatoes and store bought spices; and put it in my crock pot to cook. i doubled it and will freeze the rest. thanks! i gave it 4 stars because i too cut the oregano, so i didn't do it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Great spaghetti sauce! I was in a rush to make tonights dinner so I used 14 oz of petite diced tomatoes (my kids are not a fan of tomatoes so I used only 1/2 of the 28oz can, then I used 1 29oz can of tomato sauce, 1 6 oz tomato paste, 2 tablespoons minced onion, 1/4 tsp minced garlic, 3 tsp basil, 3 tsp oregano and 2 tsp italian seasoning. I will probably use 2 tsp basil, 2 tsp oregano and 1 tsp italian seasoning which some of the reviewers suggested, but still a great sauce. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
loved it and added some tomato paste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Bodai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I use this website often and have found many fantastic recipes, but don't waste your time on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
My son is allergic to dairy and it's very hard to find jarred/canned sauces he can eat and most sauces take too long to cook. This sauce was perfect - and everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Now this is a simple sauce. And, it's good! I added frozen meatballs and used crushed tomatoes instead of diced because it was what I had. Excellent! I added the frozen meatballs after the sauce started simmering and simmered for 25 minutes. I don't measure very precisely so I think I ended up with 3/4 of a large onion instead of what it called for. End result - very tasty and easy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
Simple and good. I added mushrooms and peppers to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Absecon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States