Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
So simple and tastes great! You can really do a lot with this. I added a can of tomato paste and thickened it a little quicker (probably totally illegal!) and added a bit more sugar and some salt and pepper. Very good and fast - loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
My son is allergic to dairy and it's very hard to find jarred/canned sauces he can eat and most sauces take too long to cook. This sauce was perfect - and everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I use this website often and have found many fantastic recipes, but don't waste your time on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
Simple and good. I added mushrooms and peppers to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Absecon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
SUBSTITUTIONS: Stevia for sugar ADDITIONS: 1 lb. hamburger. I thought the sauce needed to be a bit "thicker" so I added a can of tomato paste. Turned out nicely and will definitely make again (with above mentioned modifications).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Sorry but as is we did not think this recipe was very tasty. Had to add a ton of other spices to doctor it up. Will keep looking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
loved it and added some tomato paste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Bodai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This recipe was yummy! I've never made homemade spaghetti sauce before, but I was in a pinch for something quick and easy to fix for supper. I stumbled upon this recipe and found I had most of the ingredients it called for and it only took 30 minutes to prepare! The only variations I made were using minced garlic & a little garlic powder, a whole yellow onion (since I did not have any green onions), and I added an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce & salt to taste. I was impressed! I'll definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherm77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I have to admit I tweaked this one a little bit, just for experimentation. I used a 28 ounce can of crushed tomatoes, 3 teaspoons of both dried basil and dried oregano and 2 teaspoons of Italian seasoning (oregano, marjoram, thyme, rosemary, basil and sage). I also added a pound of cooked Italian sausage after the first 20 minutes and let it simmer for about 20 more. This sauce was super easy and really, really good. I had begun the day thinking I would make a really complicated recipe for bolognese but ended up with thawed sausage and a late start to the dinner preparations. I am so glad I stumbled upon this recipe at the last minute. Definitely a keeper!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACMOORE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I wanted spaghetti - was out of the jarred stuff so I made this. I didn't have diced tomatoes so I got a few cans of stewed and pureed them. I did what the other user did and added italian seasoning. I did 2 tsp basil, 2 tsp oregano and 1 tsp of italian seasoning. I also added some meatballs. I left the rest of the recipe the same and it came out excellent. Thanks for helping me figure out how to make sauce last minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESIGNSBYBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States