Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This delicious sauce was a hit with my 4 kids. I made 2 batches, one meatless for a vegetarian version, and another with ground turkey. I'm using the leftovers for homemade pizza sauce tonight so none will go to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I didnt have any garlic so i tried only using garlic powder, that didnt help AT ALL. I have no complaints about the recipe besides the oregano being VERY over powering, next time i will do 2 tsp. however, this could be because of the lack in garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Lelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Now this is a simple sauce. And, it's good! I added frozen meatballs and used crushed tomatoes instead of diced because it was what I had. Excellent! I added the frozen meatballs after the sauce started simmering and simmered for 25 minutes. I don't measure very precisely so I think I ended up with 3/4 of a large onion instead of what it called for. End result - very tasty and easy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
The bones of this sauce are terrific. I didn't measure the sugar exactly so I think that I used a little more. BUT, when done, it was the consistency of salsa. Perhaps I didn't do enough chopping! I used a submersible blender to make it into a true sauce. We ate it with meatballs and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Belz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Not a bad sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I used whole tomatoes instead of canned ones to eliminate unnecessary sodium, skipped the sugar altogether, and reduced the oregano and basil by 1 tsp. to make it tomatoier. The color was a little funky and it needed some body, so I put in some tomato paste. Ended up being okay, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This was a good recipe to use for a quick sauce. I ran out of ready made and used this instead of running to the store. I did use the emulsion blender to make it a smoother sauce rather than a chunky one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe for sauce on meatball sub sandwiches. AWESOME FLAVOR!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by travelfoodfun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was really quick and easy! Here were my modifications, and it came out very tasty! I only had one 14.5 oz can of tomatoes (and they were whole, peeled tomatoes but I just diced them up), so I used that (including the juice in the can) plus one 6 oz can of tomato paste and one 8 oz can of tomato sauce. I was too lazy to see if I had scallions still growing outside, so I just used up 1/4 of a medium onion and minced two really large cloves of garlic (because I didn't see that they were supposed to be crushed). While the sauce was simmering, I cooked up 1/2 lb of ground spicy sausage meat and added it to the simmering sauce after about 10 minutes. Then, I let the sauce simmer some more for 10 minutes to do the total 20 minutes. We like a lot of sauce on our pasta, so this made about 3 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DVDIVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
It's alright- this sauce is a fine base from which to create your own. It's just a basic spaghetti sauce. I added one small can of tomato paste to thicken it. Then I threw in probably another teaspoon or two of basil, a pinch or two garlic powder, a dash of both salt and pepper, and a small handful of personally shredded Romano (do it yourself for smaller shreds!). exnay on the oregano. I don't like it at all. Also, make it with the meatball recipe I put on this site. Serve it with any kind of pasta and TA DA... a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura.Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States