Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This recipe doesn't work out at all for us. With so much dried basil and oregano, they never become part of the sauce itself, and it is not appetizing to be eating dried leaves all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patriciafulda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Made this last night and it was very good. I added a stalk of finely chopped celery, a small can of tomato paste and some fresh ground pepper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Way to much oregano and basil.If I try again I will cut both in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
great recipe. will double it next time and put some in the freezer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
If I may suggest, instead of using a can of diced tomatoes, Ilike to use a can of minced tomatoes. Put the minced tomatoes into a food processor to give it a puree. The flavor from the stewed tomatoes make a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This is great! I added a small can of tomato paste and a small can of chopped mushrooms. Better than store-bought, and less expensive, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
People who rate a recipe they haven't tried simply because they don't like the ingredients are rude! There are millions of recipes on the Internet, if you don't like one for whatever reason, move on! I think this is a good basic sauce and cooks should add/remove any ingredients based on personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I cut dried herbs by half (personal preference) and since I didn't have green onions, increased diced onion a bit to compensate. Also added 1 large grated carrot to the sauteing onion. Adding the carrot not only helped to thicken the sauce later, but it got some extra nutrients happening. You can't even tell the carrot is there! Due to my changes, I rate this sauce a solid 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This very close to the James Beard recipe that I have used for nearly 40 years. His version doesn't use oregano or green onion, adds fresh garlic and reduces the tomatoes before adding the spices. If you omit the "Italian" spices and use chili powder and cumin, adding a can of diced green chili peppers to the tomatoes, you will also have a good red sauce for Mexican dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karmakamedian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I already make a very similar recipe for pasta, okra dishes, Rice dishes, Baked Potatoe dishes, etc. I see a few people complaining a lot of this, and that, and not liking the recipe. Folks, THERE ARE NO RULES. YOU FIND WHAT YOU, OR YOUR FAMILY LIKES, AND CUSTOMIZE IT. If you don't like something in the recipe, either cut it out, or keep playing with varying amounts until you like the taste of your INDIVIDUALIZED sauce.If someone in the family doesn't like one spice or herb, make the sauce minus those things then add them after you have removed some portion for that sensitive person. Viola!Everyone is happy. Don't throw the baby and the bath water out, from one try. Experimentation is truly the fun in cooking. FYI, I use a lot of Onions, Mushrooms, Garlic (Italians call these, the "Holy Trinity") then I use just enough amount of EVOO (Cold pressed) with a long expiration date, for freshness, to saute the amount of onions, mushrooms, and Garlic; so it's definitely going to be more than the amount called for in this recipe. You don't want to burn the onions et al. Learn how to buy the best, freshest, flavorful EVOO; it makes a huge difference. Buy Evoo made within 6 months. Ones from overseas take months before they get here, and also are not pure, or Extra Virgin as they claim. Buy the ones made in California, USA, and "USDA/Organic" Certified. That way you are buying freshness, and guaranteed Organic quality. Mangia bene!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States