Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This is great! I added a small can of tomato paste and a small can of chopped mushrooms. Better than store-bought, and less expensive, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
People who rate a recipe they haven't tried simply because they don't like the ingredients are rude! There are millions of recipes on the Internet, if you don't like one for whatever reason, move on! I think this is a good basic sauce and cooks should add/remove any ingredients based on personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I cut dried herbs by half (personal preference) and since I didn't have green onions, increased diced onion a bit to compensate. Also added 1 large grated carrot to the sauteing onion. Adding the carrot not only helped to thicken the sauce later, but it got some extra nutrients happening. You can't even tell the carrot is there! Due to my changes, I rate this sauce a solid 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This very close to the James Beard recipe that I have used for nearly 40 years. His version doesn't use oregano or green onion, adds fresh garlic and reduces the tomatoes before adding the spices. If you omit the "Italian" spices and use chili powder and cumin, adding a can of diced green chili peppers to the tomatoes, you will also have a good red sauce for Mexican dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karmakamedian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I already make a very similar recipe for pasta, okra dishes, Rice dishes, Baked Potatoe dishes, etc. I see a few people complaining a lot of this, and that, and not liking the recipe. Folks, THERE ARE NO RULES. YOU FIND WHAT YOU, OR YOUR FAMILY LIKES, AND CUSTOMIZE IT. If you don't like something in the recipe, either cut it out, or keep playing with varying amounts until you like the taste of your INDIVIDUALIZED sauce.If someone in the family doesn't like one spice or herb, make the sauce minus those things then add them after you have removed some portion for that sensitive person. Viola!Everyone is happy. Don't throw the baby and the bath water out, from one try. Experimentation is truly the fun in cooking. FYI, I use a lot of Onions, Mushrooms, Garlic (Italians call these, the "Holy Trinity") then I use just enough amount of EVOO (Cold pressed) with a long expiration date, for freshness, to saute the amount of onions, mushrooms, and Garlic; so it's definitely going to be more than the amount called for in this recipe. You don't want to burn the onions et al. Learn how to buy the best, freshest, flavorful EVOO; it makes a huge difference. Buy Evoo made within 6 months. Ones from overseas take months before they get here, and also are not pure, or Extra Virgin as they claim. Buy the ones made in California, USA, and "USDA/Organic" Certified. That way you are buying freshness, and guaranteed Organic quality. Mangia bene!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Growing up we called this "Quick Sauce" as opposed to our Sunday "Gravy". It's always been my favorite. Just a few suggesions; when using canned tomatoes, always use San Marzano imported for an over the top authentic flair. Also, fresh basil is a must, the dried does not do justice to Italian recipes. I grow it in the summer and at the end of the season, pick the remaining leaves and put in a food processor with extra virgin olive oil and garlic freeze in a well oiled ice cube tray so I always have a fresh version of basil on hand. Lastly, instead of sugar or sugar substitute, you may want to shave off peeled carrots with a veggie peeler to give a natural sweetness. Otherwise, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
double the garlic, 1/2 the basil & oregano , added small can of paste .... not a bad basic sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This a great basic recipe that can be altered to personal preference. I omitted the green onion and sugar. Added 1 packet of "SPLENDA" I also used a 28 oz. can of crushed tomato. Added 1 can tomato paste, mushrooms, shredded carrot, and zucchini. I also decreased seasonings, as I do not like an over bearing basil and oregano taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I used tomato purée instead of diced tomatoes...made the sauce thicker without paste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I've been making my sauce this way for years. The only things I do differently is omit the sugar, use spaghetti seasoning and add roasted italian sausage: brush 4 links (2 sweet and 2 hot) with olive oil and spaghetti seasoning. Roast on a rack at 350 for 20-30 minutes. Mince in a food processor and add to sauce. This sauce freezes well. I make 4-6 batches at a time and freeze it freezer bags lying flat (4-6 cups of sauce in each bag). It thaws in 10-15 minutes in the sink with room temperature water. Works really well with those no-cook lasagna noodles for a quick, effortless supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henniker, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States