Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
My son is allergic to dairy and it's very hard to find jarred/canned sauces he can eat and most sauces take too long to cook. This sauce was perfect - and everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
So simple and tastes great! You can really do a lot with this. I added a can of tomato paste and thickened it a little quicker (probably totally illegal!) and added a bit more sugar and some salt and pepper. Very good and fast - loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
303 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I wanted spaghetti - was out of the jarred stuff so I made this. I didn't have diced tomatoes so I got a few cans of stewed and pureed them. I did what the other user did and added italian seasoning. I did 2 tsp basil, 2 tsp oregano and 1 tsp of italian seasoning. I also added some meatballs. I left the rest of the recipe the same and it came out excellent. Thanks for helping me figure out how to make sauce last minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESIGNSBYBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I loved this spaghetti sauce! I added only yellow and white onions, like 1/2 teaspoon more sugar, regular diced tomatoes and tomato paste! It was great and my entire family adored it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Ignacio, Cayo District, Belize

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I have to admit I tweaked this one a little bit, just for experimentation. I used a 28 ounce can of crushed tomatoes, 3 teaspoons of both dried basil and dried oregano and 2 teaspoons of Italian seasoning (oregano, marjoram, thyme, rosemary, basil and sage). I also added a pound of cooked Italian sausage after the first 20 minutes and let it simmer for about 20 more. This sauce was super easy and really, really good. I had begun the day thinking I would make a really complicated recipe for bolognese but ended up with thawed sausage and a late start to the dinner preparations. I am so glad I stumbled upon this recipe at the last minute. Definitely a keeper!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACMOORE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was excellent! I made it for some friends, it didn't last long. The only adaptations were that i added a green bell pepper, and used 3 cans of diced tomatoes, i pureed the sauce after it had cooled down to room temperature the night before. I then reheated it the following night for friends. Great served with parmesan cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Easy to make if you don't have any sauce on hand. I didn't have 28 oz can of peeled diced tomatoes on hand, so I made this with a 14 oz can of tomato sauce and a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes and it gave me a very nice marinara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
If my husband had anything to say about this rating system, I would give this recipe 10 stars. I was really truly impressed at how great this tasted. I made a bigger batch of this by adding 14 ounces of crushed tomatoes and adjusting the listed spices accordingly. I also used Splenda in place of the regular sugar. It was soooooo good that the next day, my husband insisted that I cook more pasta so that he can use the leftover sauce (which was plenty and is freezable). Courtney, thank you soooo much for such an awesome-tasting and quick/easy recipe. This is one of those recipes that will be used every week and I'll make sure to teach my kids how to make this once they're a little older. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Perfect! Green onions are essential, they give the sauce it's own special flavor. Since I love the flavor of olive oil, I add a bit more than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I just made this & it tastes great.I made a smaller amount & had to omit the onions because they cause me to have headaches.It still tastes good & thickened enough just by simmering.Thanks to Courtney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States