Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
So simple and tastes great! You can really do a lot with this. I added a can of tomato paste and thickened it a little quicker (probably totally illegal!) and added a bit more sugar and some salt and pepper. Very good and fast - loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This recipe was yummy! I've never made homemade spaghetti sauce before, but I was in a pinch for something quick and easy to fix for supper. I stumbled upon this recipe and found I had most of the ingredients it called for and it only took 30 minutes to prepare! The only variations I made were using minced garlic & a little garlic powder, a whole yellow onion (since I did not have any green onions), and I added an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce & salt to taste. I was impressed! I'll definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherm77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
SUBSTITUTIONS: Stevia for sugar ADDITIONS: 1 lb. hamburger. I thought the sauce needed to be a bit "thicker" so I added a can of tomato paste. Turned out nicely and will definitely make again (with above mentioned modifications).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
this was a great base recipe that you can do all kinds of things with. i used my home grown tomatoes, basil, and oregano in it instead of canned tomatoes and store bought spices; and put it in my crock pot to cook. i doubled it and will freeze the rest. thanks! i gave it 4 stars because i too cut the oregano, so i didn't do it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Great spaghetti sauce! I was in a rush to make tonights dinner so I used 14 oz of petite diced tomatoes (my kids are not a fan of tomatoes so I used only 1/2 of the 28oz can, then I used 1 29oz can of tomato sauce, 1 6 oz tomato paste, 2 tablespoons minced onion, 1/4 tsp minced garlic, 3 tsp basil, 3 tsp oregano and 2 tsp italian seasoning. I will probably use 2 tsp basil, 2 tsp oregano and 1 tsp italian seasoning which some of the reviewers suggested, but still a great sauce. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
loved it and added some tomato paste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Bodai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I use this website often and have found many fantastic recipes, but don't waste your time on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
My son is allergic to dairy and it's very hard to find jarred/canned sauces he can eat and most sauces take too long to cook. This sauce was perfect - and everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Now this is a simple sauce. And, it's good! I added frozen meatballs and used crushed tomatoes instead of diced because it was what I had. Excellent! I added the frozen meatballs after the sauce started simmering and simmered for 25 minutes. I don't measure very precisely so I think I ended up with 3/4 of a large onion instead of what it called for. End result - very tasty and easy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
Simple and good. I added mushrooms and peppers to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Absecon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States