Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
So simple and tastes great! You can really do a lot with this. I added a can of tomato paste and thickened it a little quicker (probably totally illegal!) and added a bit more sugar and some salt and pepper. Very good and fast - loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
311 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
My son is allergic to dairy and it's very hard to find jarred/canned sauces he can eat and most sauces take too long to cook. This sauce was perfect - and everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I use this website often and have found many fantastic recipes, but don't waste your time on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
Simple and good. I added mushrooms and peppers to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Absecon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
SUBSTITUTIONS: Stevia for sugar ADDITIONS: 1 lb. hamburger. I thought the sauce needed to be a bit "thicker" so I added a can of tomato paste. Turned out nicely and will definitely make again (with above mentioned modifications).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Sorry but as is we did not think this recipe was very tasty. Had to add a ton of other spices to doctor it up. Will keep looking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
loved it and added some tomato paste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Bodai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This recipe was yummy! I've never made homemade spaghetti sauce before, but I was in a pinch for something quick and easy to fix for supper. I stumbled upon this recipe and found I had most of the ingredients it called for and it only took 30 minutes to prepare! The only variations I made were using minced garlic & a little garlic powder, a whole yellow onion (since I did not have any green onions), and I added an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce & salt to taste. I was impressed! I'll definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherm77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I have to admit I tweaked this one a little bit, just for experimentation. I used a 28 ounce can of crushed tomatoes, 3 teaspoons of both dried basil and dried oregano and 2 teaspoons of Italian seasoning (oregano, marjoram, thyme, rosemary, basil and sage). I also added a pound of cooked Italian sausage after the first 20 minutes and let it simmer for about 20 more. This sauce was super easy and really, really good. I had begun the day thinking I would make a really complicated recipe for bolognese but ended up with thawed sausage and a late start to the dinner preparations. I am so glad I stumbled upon this recipe at the last minute. Definitely a keeper!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACMOORE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I wanted spaghetti - was out of the jarred stuff so I made this. I didn't have diced tomatoes so I got a few cans of stewed and pureed them. I did what the other user did and added italian seasoning. I did 2 tsp basil, 2 tsp oregano and 1 tsp of italian seasoning. I also added some meatballs. I left the rest of the recipe the same and it came out excellent. Thanks for helping me figure out how to make sauce last minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESIGNSBYBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States