Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Not a bad sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I used whole tomatoes instead of canned ones to eliminate unnecessary sodium, skipped the sugar altogether, and reduced the oregano and basil by 1 tsp. to make it tomatoier. The color was a little funky and it needed some body, so I put in some tomato paste. Ended up being okay, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This was a good recipe to use for a quick sauce. I ran out of ready made and used this instead of running to the store. I did use the emulsion blender to make it a smoother sauce rather than a chunky one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe for sauce on meatball sub sandwiches. AWESOME FLAVOR!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by travelfoodfun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was really quick and easy! Here were my modifications, and it came out very tasty! I only had one 14.5 oz can of tomatoes (and they were whole, peeled tomatoes but I just diced them up), so I used that (including the juice in the can) plus one 6 oz can of tomato paste and one 8 oz can of tomato sauce. I was too lazy to see if I had scallions still growing outside, so I just used up 1/4 of a medium onion and minced two really large cloves of garlic (because I didn't see that they were supposed to be crushed). While the sauce was simmering, I cooked up 1/2 lb of ground spicy sausage meat and added it to the simmering sauce after about 10 minutes. Then, I let the sauce simmer some more for 10 minutes to do the total 20 minutes. We like a lot of sauce on our pasta, so this made about 3 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DVDIVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
It's alright- this sauce is a fine base from which to create your own. It's just a basic spaghetti sauce. I added one small can of tomato paste to thicken it. Then I threw in probably another teaspoon or two of basil, a pinch or two garlic powder, a dash of both salt and pepper, and a small handful of personally shredded Romano (do it yourself for smaller shreds!). exnay on the oregano. I don't like it at all. Also, make it with the meatball recipe I put on this site. Serve it with any kind of pasta and TA DA... a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura.Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This is a great recipe to use when you have very little time and a near empty pantry. Its nothing like my normal "cook all day" ingredient loaded sauce but for a meal in a snap this is really good. My kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarissa Neiding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I decided to try this recipe rather than run to the grocery store to buy spaghetti sauce. I'm glad I did. It is easy to prepare and tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
My granddaughter and I made this sauce… We did not have fresh or peeled tomatoes, so I used a 28-oz can crushed tomatoes…. Sauce came out semi-chucky…Will try fresh herbs instead of dried...they didn't seem to soften...but didn't matter...simmered for 2 hours...on low... Sauce had perfect flavor! We love it…she even ate two helpings of noodles! No more store bought sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Used all the tomatoes I had since I found I didn't have canned. Came out great!!!! Never going to used bottled sauce again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States