Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Not a bad sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I used whole tomatoes instead of canned ones to eliminate unnecessary sodium, skipped the sugar altogether, and reduced the oregano and basil by 1 tsp. to make it tomatoier. The color was a little funky and it needed some body, so I put in some tomato paste. Ended up being okay, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This was a good recipe to use for a quick sauce. I ran out of ready made and used this instead of running to the store. I did use the emulsion blender to make it a smoother sauce rather than a chunky one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe for sauce on meatball sub sandwiches. AWESOME FLAVOR!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by travelfoodfun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was really quick and easy! Here were my modifications, and it came out very tasty! I only had one 14.5 oz can of tomatoes (and they were whole, peeled tomatoes but I just diced them up), so I used that (including the juice in the can) plus one 6 oz can of tomato paste and one 8 oz can of tomato sauce. I was too lazy to see if I had scallions still growing outside, so I just used up 1/4 of a medium onion and minced two really large cloves of garlic (because I didn't see that they were supposed to be crushed). While the sauce was simmering, I cooked up 1/2 lb of ground spicy sausage meat and added it to the simmering sauce after about 10 minutes. Then, I let the sauce simmer some more for 10 minutes to do the total 20 minutes. We like a lot of sauce on our pasta, so this made about 3 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DVDIVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
It's alright- this sauce is a fine base from which to create your own. It's just a basic spaghetti sauce. I added one small can of tomato paste to thicken it. Then I threw in probably another teaspoon or two of basil, a pinch or two garlic powder, a dash of both salt and pepper, and a small handful of personally shredded Romano (do it yourself for smaller shreds!). exnay on the oregano. I don't like it at all. Also, make it with the meatball recipe I put on this site. Serve it with any kind of pasta and TA DA... a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura.Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This is a great recipe to use when you have very little time and a near empty pantry. Its nothing like my normal "cook all day" ingredient loaded sauce but for a meal in a snap this is really good. My kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarissa Neiding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I decided to try this recipe rather than run to the grocery store to buy spaghetti sauce. I'm glad I did. It is easy to prepare and tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
My granddaughter and I made this sauce… We did not have fresh or peeled tomatoes, so I used a 28-oz can crushed tomatoes…. Sauce came out semi-chucky…Will try fresh herbs instead of dried...they didn't seem to soften...but didn't matter...simmered for 2 hours...on low... Sauce had perfect flavor! We love it…she even ate two helpings of noodles! No more store bought sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Used all the tomatoes I had since I found I didn't have canned. Came out great!!!! Never going to used bottled sauce again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States