Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I usually make a quick meat sauce by using a jar of store bought spaghetti sauce and adding additional seasoning to suit our taste. I was out of store bought and we wanted spaghetti tonight so I began browsing allrecipes for ideas when I came upon this one. This is a really great basic recipe. Don't ever be afraid to make adjustments for your family. I took a few short cuts and modified it to work with the ingredients I had on hand and adjusted the spices for our taste. These are the changes I made: placed chopped onion (had no green onion) in the same pan I just cooked the 8 minute spaghetti, with 1 lb ground beef and 1/2 lb hot Italian sausage. Minced 4 garlic cloves and sprinkled them with a pinch of salt and set aside. I pureed 2 (14.5 oz) cans of Italian style diced tomatoes and added them to the browned meat mixture with the garlic. I added 1- 8 oz can of tomato sauce, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1/4 tsp crushed red peppers, 1 Tbsp sugar, pinch of kosher salt to taste, and rubbed 1 Tbsp Italian seasoning and 1 tsp basil between my hands into the sauce, stirred, and simmered for 20 minutes adding the cooked spaghetti about 1/2 way through. The noodles get to finish cooking and soak up all the great flavors from the sauce. Very yummy and very little clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Great quick sauce to just 'throw together'. I put a chopped bell pepper in with the onions & 1# of lean ground beef. I made this pretty true to recipe, except the green onions (I didn't have any). I have fresh herbs and added a bit more to my taste and used my own home canned tomatoes, along with a small can of tomato paste (some added for thickening). Picture posted. I'd give 4.5-5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
4 stars only because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. Instead of 1 28 ounce can of tomatoes I used 2 14.5 ounce cans of tomatoes with basil and oregano (because of that I also did not add the basil and oregano - and I pureed the tomatoes as I don't like cooked tomato chunks). I also used 1 teaspoon of brown sugar instead of white, as white sweetens it too much for my taste, and I added a pound of hamburger. I had read one review that said tomato paste was added to thicken it...I don't know how thin/thick it is on its own...I sort of "over"-cooked it...burned a couple places actually, but it's a recipe I will follow again, with my adjustments, minus the burning (I hope:-))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mybabiesmother

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Used fresh green onions, oregano and basil, chopped fresh from my garden then popped into the sauce. Delicious and much lighter than most sauces that include canned tomato paste and sauce. Once my tomatoes get going, I will have fresh tomatoes, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Very good base recipe. Made a few additions to suit my families taste. Tomato paste and butter. Then because it was a bit too thick with the tomato paste, I added some beef broth. I won't be buying store bought anymore. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This sauce turned out amazing. Husband and kid approved! We will definitely be making it again and again since Spaghetti is a favorite in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Very happy with the sauce. Very forgiving. I made it once with diced tomatoes and cut the spices to 3 tbsp. Very good, a little chunky but that's what I like. I've also made it with tomato sauce and a can of paste. The kids like their marinara smooth and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
i use shallots sometimes instead of chopped onions. also use italian seasoning or 2 tsp basil 4 tsp oregano, 1 tsp marjorium. add mushrooms and red bell pepper when sauteing the onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmallen6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is not good. Way too much oregano and basil. I would cut those ingredients in half, but I still don't think this particular sauce would be good. It was significantly overseasoned, but still incredibly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Awesome, quick recipe! I added a little tomato paste like some of the other comments said. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States