Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This was so simple and we liked the flavor on this. I cut this in half and used a can of stewed tomatoes instead of diced, a small can of tomato paste and 3 cans of water, and then ended up adding another can of tomato sauce (15 oz.) as this cooked down and I needed to stretch it out. I added a lb. of cooked seasoned ground beef at my husband's request. I let this simmer for 1.5 hours before serving. The next time I will add a pinch of cayenne pepper and double the sugar. Great starting point and good like it is, but this would be easy to add in favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Uh...guys, this is awful. 4 teaspoons each of basil and oregano? This was just thick chunky mush and the flavor will not leave my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I started making spaghetti in a hurry one evening before i realized that we had no sauce to go on it. I found this recipe and was pleasantly surprised that it was so flavorful. Since my husband needs meat, I added some cooked ground beef and mushrooms to the sauce. My picky kids devoured their spaghetti, and my husband couldn't say enough about it. I have to admit that it doesn't look at all like the spaghetti sauces that I'm used to or have made in the past. It looks like it will taste bland with the lack of tomato paste or sauce. My husband said that I should start making it all of the time instead of using the stuff in the jar. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Yum! This was exactly what I was looking for. I cut out processed foods awhile ago, and that means making old favorites from scratch. This is very simple and can be made from things I already had in the kitchen. And it's so easy to add to! I wanted to sneak in some more vegetables, so I added some zucchini and carrots. I also cut back on the spices--half of each was plenty for me. I pureed it to give it a smoother consistency. Paired with some pasta and turkey meatballs, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was very good. I made a few changes to use what I already had. I used one can italian stewed tomatoes and one can tomato sauce. I also used dried onions and one splenda packet. I was very good! I wanted something easy and it was very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I loved this recipe. I changed it up a little bit though. 1 TB olive oil 1 1/2 small onions diced 2 cloves garlic mashed 1 TB dried chives 1 14.5 oz plain hunts petite diced tomatoes 1 10 oz can RoTel original diced tomatoes and green chilis 2 tsp dried basil leaves 2 tsp dried oregano leaves 2 tsp sugar 2 TB ketchup a dash of salt and a dash of pepper. after sautéing the onions etc and added the tomatoes, I measured out 3/4 of the mixture and pureed it.. made it thicken up nicely. I had some homemade meatballs in the freezer so I added those to the pan, covered and simmered for 45 min so the meatballs would heat thoroughly (they were frozen)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bphillips36

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I should have questioned the 4 tsp each of oregano and basil - overload of those two. Next time I will cut those each in 1/2 - I used my Cuisinart quick prep hand blender and pureed a lot of the tomatoes to make a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
On this recipe i used 29 oz of tomato sauce and 1 can of rotelli, i was short on funds just threw it together wow it turned out great,I also put hamburger and use apriva instead of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I coming home from work and I am going to make this for my husband and kids I am so sure this recipe is going to be a home run!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This sauce was good..my picky daughter even loved it..I did alter it, however to suit our taste; I used a 6 oz can of tomato sauce and 1/2 chopped and peeled fresh tomato instead of the canned tomatoes. I also didn't have any green onion which I didn't taste it missing. I used all the other ingredients in the recipe and it came out just delicious! Has a slightly sweet flavor ..tasted gourmet..Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie824

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States