Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
If I may suggest, instead of using a can of diced tomatoes, Ilike to use a can of minced tomatoes. Put the minced tomatoes into a food processor to give it a puree. The flavor from the stewed tomatoes make a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This is great! I added a small can of tomato paste and a small can of chopped mushrooms. Better than store-bought, and less expensive, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
People who rate a recipe they haven't tried simply because they don't like the ingredients are rude! There are millions of recipes on the Internet, if you don't like one for whatever reason, move on! I think this is a good basic sauce and cooks should add/remove any ingredients based on personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I cut dried herbs by half (personal preference) and since I didn't have green onions, increased diced onion a bit to compensate. Also added 1 large grated carrot to the sauteing onion. Adding the carrot not only helped to thicken the sauce later, but it got some extra nutrients happening. You can't even tell the carrot is there! Due to my changes, I rate this sauce a solid 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This very close to the James Beard recipe that I have used for nearly 40 years. His version doesn't use oregano or green onion, adds fresh garlic and reduces the tomatoes before adding the spices. If you omit the "Italian" spices and use chili powder and cumin, adding a can of diced green chili peppers to the tomatoes, you will also have a good red sauce for Mexican dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karmakamedian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Growing up we called this "Quick Sauce" as opposed to our Sunday "Gravy". It's always been my favorite. Just a few suggesions; when using canned tomatoes, always use San Marzano imported for an over the top authentic flair. Also, fresh basil is a must, the dried does not do justice to Italian recipes. I grow it in the summer and at the end of the season, pick the remaining leaves and put in a food processor with extra virgin olive oil and garlic freeze in a well oiled ice cube tray so I always have a fresh version of basil on hand. Lastly, instead of sugar or sugar substitute, you may want to shave off peeled carrots with a veggie peeler to give a natural sweetness. Otherwise, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
double the garlic, 1/2 the basil & oregano , added small can of paste .... not a bad basic sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenacres, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This a great basic recipe that can be altered to personal preference. I omitted the green onion and sugar. Added 1 packet of "SPLENDA" I also used a 28 oz. can of crushed tomato. Added 1 can tomato paste, mushrooms, shredded carrot, and zucchini. I also decreased seasonings, as I do not like an over bearing basil and oregano taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I used tomato purée instead of diced tomatoes...made the sauce thicker without paste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I've been making my sauce this way for years. The only things I do differently is omit the sugar, use spaghetti seasoning and add roasted italian sausage: brush 4 links (2 sweet and 2 hot) with olive oil and spaghetti seasoning. Roast on a rack at 350 for 20-30 minutes. Mince in a food processor and add to sauce. This sauce freezes well. I make 4-6 batches at a time and freeze it freezer bags lying flat (4-6 cups of sauce in each bag). It thaws in 10-15 minutes in the sink with room temperature water. Works really well with those no-cook lasagna noodles for a quick, effortless supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henniker, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States